Last Updated: Sep 11, 2014
Contains over 1.6 million digital images, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design from many time periods and cultures.
- Google Images
- Art Abstracts
Indexes over 600 art periodicals and museum sources, from architecture and design to video.
- Oxford Art Online
Provides access to The Dictionary of Art (paper copy REF N31 .D5 1996 v.1-34), original essays by scholars in the field, image links for drawings, paintings, maps etc. Multi-cultural and multi-national material is included. New material is added on a regular basis. Limited to five users -- Please remember to log off.
- Biography Reference Bank
Information on half a million people, from antiquity to the present. Includes full-text of 100+ volumes of biographical reference books, images, and citations to additional articles and book reviews.
- Academic Search Complete
Indexing and full-text, dates of coverage vary by title (many 1975-present).
This interdisciplinary scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including: sciences, social sciences, arts & literature, ethnic studies, and many more. Full-text for over 6,100 titles (5,100 peer-reviewed); indexing and abstracting for 10,600 titles; complete historical coverage and citation searching for select titles.
- Google Scholar
Use this search to focus on scholarly websites, including many online journals. You can set your preferences to link to Penfield's many databases in this way: 1) choose settings; 2) click library links in the left column and type "SUNY Oswego"; 3) select the link provided; 4) click "save."
- JSTOR Multiple Collections
Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Language & Literature, and Ecology Collections. An archives of important scholarly journal literature. In most cases, full text of the journal is available from the first issue through issues from a few years ago.
- Omnifile Full-Text Select (H.W. Wilson) 1994-present
A full-text database of almost 2000 periodical publications, including coverage of the sciences, humanities, education & other social sciences, business and information science.
- WorldCat, covers from the oldest to the most recent library holdings
Database created from the online catalogs of books, media and other materials located in many libraries worldwide. (This is NOT AN INDEX FOR ARTICLES). Use to identify titles that you may be able to borrow through Interlibrary Loan (ILLIAD).