Tips and Tricks
Combine terms using AND to narrow your results: Prohibition AND United States.
Combine terms using OR to expand your results: deregulation OR reaganomics.
Add * to the root of a work to retrieve different spelling variations: econom* gets economy or economics.
Use "" to search terms as an exact phrase: "economic recovery"
Check the box for limiting results to peer reviewed items; this will include peer reviewed articles.
Search terms as subject headings to make your results more precise. Use the thesaurus to see if your term is a subject heading. Some databases call subject headings descripters.
Databases
- EconLit with Full TextFull text for nearly 600 journals, articles, books, book reviews, collective volume articles, working papers and dissertations covering all aspects of economics. Limited to four users -- please remember to log off.
- JSTORArts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Language & Literature, Ecology and Life Sciences Collections. An archives of important scholarly journal literature. In most cases, full text of the journal is available from the first issue through issues from a few years ago.
- Historical Abstracts, 1954 - presentAnnotated references to journal articles on the history of areas outside of the United States and Canada. Subject coverage extends from the year 1450 to the present. Indexes over 2,000 scholarly historical journals
- America: History & Life, 1964-presentCitations to journal articles and reviews of books on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes over 2,000 scholarly historical journals.
- SocINDEX with Full Text, 1908-present (varies by title; some indexing from 1895)Full text for over 500 journals in sociology and related disciplines, and indexing for over 3000 others. Also includes relevant books and conference papers, many of them full-text, and allows searching of cited references.
Primary Sources
- American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital LibraryOnline presentation of primary source materials and exhibitions from the Library of Congress and other institutions.
- American History in VideoAn extensive streaming video collection, including commerical and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.l Accompanying transcripts allow for keyword searching.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000Digital library of primary source documents relevant to United States history of women and social movements. Includes dozens of document collections with tens of thousands of document pages. Images, transcriptions, and supporting information are available for each document.
- New York Times Article Archives, 1851-presentOnline index. For library provided full-text, check the link determine if a Journal Title is Available. SUNY Oswego students, faculty, and staff may request free copy service for those articles available only in microfilm.
- Primary sources in newspaper and magazine articles
Locate a Specific Journal
- Journals by TitleThis is the place to search for a specific journal title, such as Time, Wall Street Journal or Fortune.
Subject Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Ask a Librarian
315-312-4267
askalibrarian@oswego.edu
askalibrarian@oswego.edu



Loading...
