Last Updated: Oct 31, 2014
Full-text coverage of almost 900 journals. Focus is on scientific, technical and medical fields, with significant coverage of social sciences as well. (use buttons at top of page to go to journals or do a search)
- Biological Abstracts
1995- present. Comprehensive index to Biology journal articles. Monitors over 4,000 journals from 100 countries. Limited to ten users -- Please remember to log off.
- PubMed, 1966-present
"U.S. National Library of Medicine search service to access 19 million citations from MEDLINE for biomedical articles back to 1948 and other related databases."
- Public Library of Science (PLoS)
Includes seven peer reviewed, open access journals in the life and health sciences.
- Agricola (via USDA), 1970-present
Covers major agricultural subjects including botany, conservation, energy, food & nutrition, pollution, and zoology.
- arXiv.org, 1992 - present
An open access archive of e-prints of scientific papers in qualitative biology, physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative finance and statistics.
- BioMed Central
Some full text available. Includes over 250 open access, peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine. When citations are marked "subscription", locate the journal by using the Journals by Title link
on the library homepage.
- MEDLINE with Full Text (via EBSCO), 1965 - present
More than 3,900 journals published internationally, covering all areas of medicine.
- Applied Science & Technology Source, 1965 - present
Search scholarly journals and professional literature about the atmospheric sciences, chemistry, computer science, engineering, geology, physics, and more.
- Google Scholar
Use this search to focus on scholarly websites, including many online journals. You can set your preferences to link to Penfield's many databases in this way: 1) choose settings; 2) click library links in the left column and type "SUNY Oswego"; 3) select the link provided; 4) click "save."
- Directory of Open Access Journals
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
- Academic Search Complete
Indexing and full-text, dates of coverage vary by title (many 1975-present).
This interdisciplinary scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including: sciences, social sciences, arts & literature, ethnic studies, and many more. Full-text for over 6,100 titles (5,100 peer-reviewed); indexing and abstracting for 10,600 titles; complete historical coverage and citation searching for select titles.
- JSTOR Multiple Collections
Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Language & Literature, and Ecology Collections. An archives of important scholarly journal literature. In most cases, full text of the journal is available from the first issue through issues from a few years ago.
- Omnifile Full-Text Select (H.W. Wilson) 1994-present
A full-text database of almost 2000 periodical publications, including coverage of the sciences, humanities, education & other social sciences, business and information science.
- Biography Reference Bank
Information on half a million people, from antiquity to the present. Includes full-text of 100+ volumes of biographical reference books, images, and citations to additional articles and book reviews.