Are you a student? Want to win an Amazon gift card?

Take our survey on the Lake Effect Research Challenge - the webpage you are on right now - and be entered to win a $25 Amazon gift card!

Thanks in advance from your friendly neighborhood librarians!!

Lake Effect Research Challenge: Library Databases

Challenge Worksheet

Please Note:  You must be logged into your SUNY Oswego LakerApps account to access and complete the worksheets.

Section 1 Worksheet

Section 2 Worksheet

Section 3 Worksheet

Section 4 Worksheet

Section 5 Worksheet

Library Databases

Where do I find journal articles?

Find newspaper, magazine, and journal articles using the library's website which provides links to databases.

Library Databases

  • The library subscribes to databases, which are searchable collections of articles and journals
  • Often subject specific, for example, Environmental Abstracts
  • Our library selects and pays for databases for its students
  • Articles available through the library are not usually freely available on the World Wide Web. Only Oswego students with a campus E-mail account can access the library's databases.

The databases are located on the library's website. Use the link Research Guides by Subject to access them. Find the database that's right for you by matching your topic with the subject of a research guide.

Let's look at an example of a database search.

Finding a General Database

For example we see the General & Interdisciplinary Research Guide includes the Academic Search Complete database that covers many subjects.

Click on the blue Academic Search Complete link for advanced search or enter your search in the box.

Ask a Librarian