Skip to main content

Distance Learners: Resources

Penfield Library

Penfield Library: Where Ideas, Learning and Innovation Connect

Resources Available to Distance Learners

  • Over 100 proprietary databases (login required)
  • Online full text of over 40,000 journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Over 82,000 electronic books and government publications
  • Over 470,000 print volumes available for delivery from Penfield Library
  • Reference and other assistance from 15 faculty librarians

Electronic Journals, Magazines and Newspapers

 

Most of our electronic journals are provided through aggregate databases.  Complete listings are available at our A-Z List of Databases and at Journal/Newspaper Titles.  The most useful databases for each subject area are listed in the Research Guide for the subject.  The largest of these databases include:

Electronic Books, Encyclopedias and Government Publications

Over 7,000 e-books from EBSCOhost eBook Collection, over 70,000 ebooks from Ebrary, and over 5,000 electronic US government documents are available through through our catalog.  See our ebooks page for complete details. 

We also have a growing collection of encyclopedias and other reference sources for online use, including:

Software and Virtual Apps for Distance Learners

More than three dozen software applications are licensed for your use as a SUNY Oswego student in our Virtual Applications service.  This provides remote access to many of the resources in our campus-based computer labs.

  • Campus Technology Services provides instructions for accessing and using the virtual applications.
  • Pay careful attention to the instructions for saving your work and opening your files for continuing work.
  • From the Citrix Apps Portal, you can use the Web (light) version or download and install Citrix Receiver on your device for a more robust experience. 

Additional college software resources are presented at Software Downloads and Licensed Software Downloads.

Ask a Librarian