You will need to use your LakerNet ID to login to library databases from off-campus or to use Oswego's computers or wireless networks in Syracuse.
Book Delivery, Article Delivery and Interlibrary Loans: You will need to register in ILLiad to make requests and receive scanned articles and documents.
Electronic Course Reserves: You will log in to Ares with your LakerNet ID but will need the passcode supplied by your professor to access the folder for your course.
Personalized Folders and Accounts within the Library Databases: Many of our database suppliers provide a personal account in addition to our library account that will allow you to save citations, articles and searches for later use. These will often include a Research Alert service so you can receive notice of new sources that fit your searches as the materials are published. You will have to register with the database supplier while logged in to one of the databases they supply to us.
Citation Managers and Other Tools for Scholarly Research and Presentations: See our Technololgy Toolbox to learn about Citation Managers, and Presentation and Productivity tools that can be valuable in your academic pursuits. Most of these are freely available on the Internet but require the creation of a personal account.
Filters, Portals and Firewalls: Some of the networks you use may block access to our databases and other parts of our website that require a login. If this happens you will need to show our Website Technical Information page to your ISP provider or Network Adminstrator.
More than three dozen software applications are licensed for your use as a SUNY Oswego student in our Virtual Applications service. This provides remote access to many of the resources in our campus-based computer labs.
All students will need to activate your LakerNet ID and Password. You will use it for many things, including accessing your library databases, registering for classes and logging on to the Blackboard Learning Management System. To activate follow the link below.
It's required: At SUNY Oswego, email is an official form of communication. This means that college faculty and departments can send you important messages only by email to your @oswego.edu account and have no obligation to follow up by phone or mail.
PLUS #1: It is easy to forward mail from LakerApps to another account of yours on any other mail system, or vice versa.
PLUS #2: LakerApps works well with the Oswego email and phone directory and includes substantial storage for your electronic files.
PLUS #3: LakerApps Drive (Documents and Folders), Calendars and Sites support secure collaboration and sharing of information. This kind of collaboration and sharing can be especially valuable to Distance Learners.