Skip to main content

Bibliography - Dr. Mary Edwards Walker - Special Collections

Manuscripts

MS 136  Walker, Mary Edwards.  Papers consist largely of photocopies of journal articles and nineteenth & twentieth century newspaper clippings. Also included are two pieces of correspondence, one written by Dr. Walker and the other received by her. The first letter (no date) was to Marriet E. Gifford discussing her observations of industrial change in Minetto, New York, and a brief visit to Fulton, New York. The second letter, dated October 10, 1915, is from a friend mentioning health problems and regrets for not attending a suffrage meeting. Included is a bankbook of Dr. Walker's, issued by the First National Bank of Oswego, New York. It lists the deposits, withdrawals, and balance of her bank account from July 7, 1916 to July 1, 1919.
MS 086  Brown, Clara Adele.  “Adele Brown Collection.” 1895-1986.  4 boxes.
ABSTRACT: The Adele Brown collection contains Dr. Walker stamps and a background history of the stamp is included in the collection.

Student Papers

US-B Walker. Beauchene, Judy.  “Dr. Mary Edwards Walker: A Biographical Account Of Her Life.”
1984.
US-B Walker 3. Brinsmaid, Carey.  “Mary Walker in American History.” 1988.
US-B Walker.  Centola, Eileen.  “Dr. Mary Walker.” 1973.
US-B Walker 2.  Johnson, Barbara K.  “Dr. Mary Edwards Walker.” 1988

Books

Adams, George Worthington Doctors in Blue; The Medical History of the Union Army in the Civil War.
Circulating Collection E6211 .A3 1996
Congressional Record, 50th Congress, Ist Session, Senate Report, 602,  p.30 Washington, 1888.
Journal Collection.  Microfilm (March 4, 1873) - (November 1966)
Congressional Record, 55th Congress, 2nd Session, H.R. 9732. Washington, 1898.
Journal Collection.  Microfilm (March 4, 1873) - (November 1966)
Conway, Moncure Daniel. Autobiography: Memories and Experiences of Moncure Daniel Conway
Circulating Collection.  BX9869.C8 A3
Groat, Charles V.  Dr. Mary Walker - A Reader.  
Circulating Collection R154.W18 G873 1994
Special Collections R154 .W18 G873 1994
James, Edward T., et al. Notable American Women.  1971.  
Ref  HQ1123. N899 Vol.3
Leonard, Elizabeth D. (1994). “A Thing That Nothing But the Depraved Yankee Nation Could Produce”:  Mary Walker, M.D., and the Limits of Tolerance”.  In Elizabeth Leonard, Yankee Women:Gender Battles in the Civil War (pp. 105-157).  New York: W.W. Norton.
Circulating Collection E628 .L46 1994
Special Collections E628 .L46 1994
The National Cyclopaedia of American Biography. 
Reference Storage E176. N28 12
Massey, Mary Elizabeth.   Bonnet Brigades
Circulating Collection E 628. M3
Snyder, Charles M. Dr.  Mary Walker: The Little Lady in Pants.
Circulating Collection R154 .W 18 S5 1985
Snyder, Charles M.   Oswego: From Buckskin to Bustles
Circulating Collection F129.O7 S65
Special Collections F129 .O7 S65
Stanton, Elizabeth Cady, et. al. History of Woman Suffrage
Circulating Collection JK 1896 .S8 1969
U.S. Congress Senate Committee on Veterans’ Affairs.  Medal of Honor recipients, 1863-1978.
Washington D.C. : GPO, 1979. 
Circulating Collection UB433. A54 1979
Walker, Mary E.  Hit.
Circulating Collection HN64 W17 2003
Spec Coll HN64 W17 1871
Woodward, Helen Beal.   The Bold Women
Circulating Collection CT3260. W67 1971

Oral Histories

062  Dietz, Carrie.  Interview by Judith Wellman.  1975
ABSTRACT:  Narration of Dietz's experiences in Oswego at the turn of the century and before.

OH 218  Downing, Raymond.  Interview by A. Duckert.  1976.
ABSTRACT:  A Massachusetts resident recalls the days when Dr. Walker used to visit his home in Greenwich.

OH 096  Groat, Dewitt.  Interview by Jeffrey A. Levine.  1978.
ABSTRACT:  Narration about life on a farm;  recalls Dr. Walker.

OH 098  Perry, Muriel.  Interview by Jeffrey A. Levine.  1978.
ABSTRACT:  Narration about teaching in the Oswego School District for over forty years.  Recollections of Dr. Walker.

OH 143  Salisbury, Lena.  Interview by Jeffrey A. Levine.  n.d.
ABSTRACT:  Narration of an Oswego Town native born in 1888.

OH 158  Savas, Thomas.  Interview by Jeffrey A. Levine.  1979.
ABSTRACT:  A Greek immigrant discusses his life in Greece and his life in Oswego.

OH 166  Turner, Thomas.  Interview by Jeffrey A. Levine.  1979.
ABSTRACT:  Born in 1891, Turner discusses the many changes in Oswego including information about Dr. Walker.

OH 219  WRVO "Dr. Mary Walker."  1976.
ABSTRACT:  A radio program featuring Dr. Walker and the fight to reinstate her Congressional Medal of Honor, with Ann Walker.

Articles

Chatfield, Jennifer.  “Mary Edwards Walker, M.D.  (1832-1919).” NAHO  1975:  9-11.  [In SpecialCollections vertical file].

Ebel, Col. Wil.  “Safeguarding the Medal of Honor.” The Retired Officer Magazine.  July, 1977: 21-23. [In Special Collections vertical file].

Gubar, Susan.  “Blessings in Disguise: Cross Dressing as a Redressing for Female Modernists.” Massachusetts Review.  1981  22(3): 477-508.

Knight, E.  “Dr. Mary Walker.” Publication of the Oswego County Historical Society.  1949: 89-90. F127.091 O9 1949

Lockwood, Alison.  “Pantsuited Pioneer of Women’s Lib,  Dr. Mary Walker.” Smithsonian.  1977  7(12): 113-119.

Long,  Robert Emmet.  “A Source for Dr. Mary Prance in The Bostonians.” Nineteenth-Century Fiction.  1964 . 19(1): 87-88.

New York State Historical Association.   Proceedings.   v. 16  (1917): 22, 27.

New York State Historical Association.   Proceedings.   v. 17  (1919): 16-17.

Wright, Fred P.  “Dr.  Mary E. Walker.” Publication of the Oswego County Historical Society.  1953: 46-53. F127.091 O0 1953

Ask a Librarian