Skip to main content

Bibliography - Dr. Mary Edwards Walker - Special Collections

Special Collections Research Center

Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
 
The Walker papers span the years from 1799 to 1919 and consist of 4 boxes (2 feet) and one microfilm reel. The collection contains 339 items of correspondence from 1833 to 1913. The majority of these, covering the years 1852 to 1913, are addressed to Dr. Walker and discuss arrangements for her post-Civil War tours and lectures, her book Hit, her pension claims, and other subjects. 
 
Her correspondents include the reformers Lydia Sayer Hasbrouck and Belva Ann Lockwood; physicians Charles Alfred Lee, Ann Preston, and George Miller Sternberg; political wives Mary Baird Bryan and Frances Folsom Cleveland; military and political figures James Heaton Baker, Jacob Collamer, William Lawrence, and Edward Davis Townsend; and the novelist Mary Andrews Denison. There are eight holograph letters of Dr. Walker (1863-1877) and one undated holograph note. Very little of the correspondence deals with her medical practice.
 
Legal and financial documents include Dr. Walker’s bills and receipts, a deed to her farm, her divorce material, Pension Office records, and wills. A sizeable amount of memorabilia including an autograph collection, newspaper clippings, genealogical data, medical memorabilia, newspapers and photographs are in the collection.
 
BOOKS
Walker, Dr. Mary E.  Unmasked, or The Science of Immortality.  Jersey City, 1888.  [microfilm]
 
PAMPHLETS
Walker, Dr. Mary E.  Crowning Constitutional Argument.  Oswego, 1907.
Walker, Dr. Mary E.  Isonomy.  Oswego, 1898.
 
UNPUBLISHED THESIS
Lawson, Dorris Moore.  "Dr. Mary E. Walker:  A Biographical Sketch,"  unpublished master's thesis, Syracuse University, 1954.

Onondaga County Public Library

Local History and Genealogy Department
The Galleries, Salina Street, Syracuse, New York 13202

The Onondaga County Public Library owns a scrapbook containing articles about Dr. Walker collected between 1931 and 1977.

Upstate Medical University

Research Collection, Upstate Medical Center Library. Syracuse, New York 13202.

This collection includes .2 cubic feet of relative information. Includes a research collection of articles and clippings about her life and career, 1939-1984; copies of pages from her personal scrapbook about her activities and speeches, 1855-1867; her obituary, 1919; and a bibliography of manuscript sources on Dr. Walker in Upstate New York repositories.

Rome Historical Society

This collection contains microfilm and copies of papers chiefly related to Dr. Walker's military career, including her service as a surgeon with the Army during the Civil War, her application for a pension, her reception of the Medal of Honor and its reinstatement in 1977. There is also genealogical correspondence between Anne North Hinton and Barbara Howlett, a Rome Historical Society researcher, and Helen Hay Wilson, a grandniece of Dr. Walker concerning Ms. Hinton's possible relationship to Dr. Walker. The collection includes newspaper and magazine articles about Dr. Walker.

Ask a Librarian