Last Updated: Nov 25, 2013
- SciFinder Scholar, 1900 - present
The most current and comprehensive indexing/abstracting source for the chemical literature. Follow this link to register with CAS to create an account, to connect to SciFinder Scholar, and to find links for support and training.
- ACS (American Chemical Society) Journal Search
ACS (American Chemical Society) Publications: Index to American Chemical Society journals as far back as 1879. Includes materials science. The full-text of select titles is available.
- Science Direct
Full-text coverage of almost 900 journals. Focus is on scientific, technical and medical fields, with significant coverage of social sciences as well. (use buttons at top of page to go to journals or do a search)
- MEDLINE with Full Text (via EBSCO), 1965 - present
More than 3,900 journals published internationally, covering all areas of medicine.
- PubMed, 1966-present
"U.S. National Library of Medicine search service to access 19 million citations from MEDLINE for biomedical articles back to 1948 and other related databases."
- BioMed Central
Some full text available. Includes over 250 open access, peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine. When citations are marked "subscription", locate the journal by using the Journals by Title link
on the library homepage.
- Public Library of Science (PLoS)
PLOS publishes peer-reviewed open-access journals in the life and health sciences.
- arXiv.org, 1992 - present
An archive of e-prints of scientific papers in quantitative biology, physics, math, and other disciplines.
Search for not only journal content, but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information.
- Academic Search Complete, Indexing and full-text, dates of coverage vary by title (many 1975-present)
This interdisciplinary scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including: sciences, social sciences, arts & literature, ethnic studies, and many more. Full-text for over 6,100 titles (5,100 peer-reviewed); indexing and abstracting for 10,600 titles; complete historical coverage and citation searching for select titles.
- Google Scholar
Use this search to focus on scholarly websites, including many online journals. You can set your preferences to link to Penfield's many databases in this way: 1) choose settings; 2) click library links in the left column and type "SUNY Oswego"; 3) select the link provided; 4) click "save."
Oswego librarians are available now.
SUNY Oswego chat is not available at this time.
Use AskUs 24/7 to chat with a librarian at another college. A librarian will be with you as soon as possible. During busy times, there may be a few minutes wait.