Skip to main content

* Cinema and Screen Studies Research Guide

Databases for Cinema & Screen Studies Research

MLA International Bibliography, 1926 - present

Literary criticism, languages, linguistics, film, and folklore from over 4,000 journals, books and dissertations published worldwide.

Communication and Mass Media Complete

Provides indexing and abstracting coverage of the major journals in communication, mass media and other related fields. Almost half of the journals are available in full text.

Art Abstracts

Indexes over 600 art periodicals and museum sources, from architecture and design to video.

Fine Arts & Music Collection

This link will take you to Gale Group, a brand name for a group of databases. You  will be able to select the Fine Arts & Music Collection to search within.

General Multi-subject Databases - More general than the above

Humanities Source, 1928-present (full text 1942-present)

Search for articles, interviews, obituaries, book reviews, and original works of fiction, drama, and poetry. Also included are reviews of ballets, dance, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.

Academic Search Complete

Indexing and full-text, dates of coverage vary by title (many 1975-present).
This interdisciplinary scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including: sciences, social sciences, arts & literature, ethnic studies, and many more.

JSTOR

Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Language & Literature, Ecology and Life Sciences Collections. An archives of important scholarly journal literature. In most cases, full text of the journal is available from the first issue through issues from a few years ago.

Research Library (ProQuest)

Search over 2,700 periodicals for information on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. (This product was formerly called Research Library Periodicals.)

Google Scholar

Use this search to focus on scholarly websites, including many online journals. You can set your preferences to link to Penfield's many databases in this way: 1) choose settings; 2) click library links in the left column and type "SUNY Oswego"; 3) select the link provided; 4) click "save."

Ask a Librarian