Skip to main content

* English Research Guide

Need help with your topic? Check out the Research Starters page!

English Databases - Good for English Literature Research

JSTOR

Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Language & Literature, Ecology and Life Sciences Collections. An archives of important scholarly journal literature. In most cases, full text of the journal is available from the first issue through issues from a few years ago.

MLA International Bibliography, 1926 - present

Literary criticism, languages, linguistics, film, and folklore from over 4,000 journals, books and dissertations published worldwide.

Humanities Source, 1928-present (full text 1942-present)

Search for articles, interviews, obituaries, book reviews, and original works of fiction, drama, and poetry. Also included are reviews of ballets, dance, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.

Literature Resource Center

Biographical and selected critical coverage of the most studied authors & works.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database

An index of children's literature, ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults. Includes detailed descriptions and reviews.

LitFinder

Full-text of thousands of poems, essays, stories, and speeches. Also includes citations for poems, biographies, glossaries, illustrations, and work explanations.

General Multi-subject Databases - More general than the above

Google Scholar

Use this search to focus on scholarly websites, including many online journals. You can set your preferences to link to Penfield's many databases in this way: 1) choose settings; 2) click library links in the left column and type "SUNY Oswego"; 3) select the link provided; 4) click "save."

Academic Search Complete

Indexing and full-text, dates of coverage vary by title (many 1975-present).
This interdisciplinary scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including: sciences, social sciences, arts & literature, ethnic studies, and many more.

Research Library (ProQuest)

Search over 2,700 periodicals for information on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. (This product was formerly called Research Library Periodicals.)

Academic OneFile

An interdisciplinary scholarly collection including full-text articles in nearly every area of academic study. Sources include leading journals and authoritative reference sources.

Ask a Librarian