Textbook Collections
The following sites contain open textbooks in a variety of subject areas, but the links below will take you directly to the textbooks about business. This is by no means an exhaustive list!
- Business (Open Textbook Library)These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
- Business, Management, & Economics (InTech)InTech publishes more than 2,300 open textbooks and 6 journals in a variety of subjects that fall under the heading of science, technology, and medicine.
Other Types of Open Resources
- Lumen LearningIn addition to an extensive catalog of courses, Lumen Learning also has a suite of tools to enable personalized learning. All Lumen courses are free to SUNY students due to a system-wide contract.
- Business (MIT Open Courseware)MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
- Business Administration Courses (Saylor Academy)Saylor Academy contains full courses, including syllabi, readings, quizzes, and more.
- Open Course LibraryThe Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts. Some of their materials are paired with low cost textbooks ($30 or less). Many of the courses can be taught at no cost to students.
- The Ethical Leadership Case Study CollectionThe majority of the cases on this site are openly licensed. Where applicable, the Creative Commons license can be found in the footer on the 3rd and subsequent pages.
- Teaching Resources Library: Case StudiesThe MIT Sloan School of Management has provided a plethora of openly licensed case studies. Check the first page of each case study for the Creative Commons license.
- Business Studies (Open Learn)Open Learn is an initiative of The Open University, UK. It provides supplemental materials for educators, including articles, podcasts, videos, games, and much more. In addition, it offers more than 700 free online classes.
- Business (MERLOT)MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community. The MERLOT Collection is made up of over 40,000 materials in 19 different material type categories.
- OER CommonsOER Commons helps educators, students, and lifelong learners avoid time-consuming searches and find exactly the right materials. With a single point of access from which they can search, browse, and evaluate resources in OER Commons’ growing collection of over 50,000 high-quality OER everyone can more efficiently find what they need.
Featured Textbooks
Organizational Behavior
Contributing Authors
J. Stewart Black, INSEAD
David S. Bright, Wright State University
Donald G. Gardner, University of Colorado-Colorado Springs
Eva Hartmann, University of Richmond
Jason Lambert, Texas Woman’s University
Laura M. Leduc, James Madison University
Joy Leopold, Webster University
James S. O’Rourke, University of Notre Dame
Jon L. Pierce, University of Minnesota-Duluth
Richard M. Steers, University of Oregon
Siri Terjesen, American University
Joseph Weiss, Bentley University
Fundamentals of Business (2nd ed.)
Authors
Skripak, Stephen J.
Cortes, Anastasia
Walz, Anita R.
Parsons, Richard
Walton, Gary
Business Plan Development Guide
Lee A. Swanson, University of Saskatchewan
Business Ethics
Senior Contributing Authors
Stephen M. Byars, USC Marshall School of Business
Kurt Stanberry, University of Houston–Downtown
Contributing Authors
David Shapiro, Pennsylvania State University
Barbara Boerner, Brevard College
Robert Brancatelli, Fordham University
Wade Chumney, California State University, Northridge
Laura Dendinger, Wayne State College
Bill Nantz, Houston Community College
Mark Poepsel, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Project Management (2nd ed.)
Author: Adrienne Watt
This guide is licensed under a