Skip to main content
Ask a Librarian
About the Library
SUNY Oswego, Penfield Library
Search this Guide
Reference Resources: Home
Access Science is an encyclopedic source that covers a variety of scientific disciplines. Entries include links to primary research material, videos and animations, and curriculum maps for teachers.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of 100+ reference titles available in full-text electronically. Search the entire collection, or search selected titles using "advanced search."
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Great for current issues research.
Points of View Reference Center
Pros and Cons of Controversial Issues
Specialized Encyclopedias - See the Research Starters tabs on individual
Biography Reference Bank
Information on half a million people, from antiquity to the present. Includes full-text of 100+ volumes of biographical reference books, images, and citations to additional articles and book reviews.
Canadian Reference Centre
Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online
Encyclopedia of World Biography, 2004
Literature Resource Center
Biographical and selected critical coverage of the most studied authors & works.
Oxford African American Studies Center
Over 7500 articles from core African American reference sources; also including primary source documents, images, maps, timelines, and biographies.
SUNY Oswego Career Services
Sponsored by the U. S. Department of Labor,
Employment and Training Administration
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Created by the U.S. Department of Labor.
Educational Testing Service (ETS)
Registration and practice for GRE, PRAXIS, SAT and many more.
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance - Ref HF5381.E52 2015
College Blue Book
Peterson's Guide to Colleges and Universities
Info about tests, choosing a school, paying for it, and more.
Best Graduate School Search at Petersons.com
Find universities by major, degrees offered, and more
SUNY Oswego Office of Financial Aid
Peterson’s scholarships, grants & prizes 2015
Guide to Online Master's Programs
Guide to Online PhD Programs
Dictionaries and Thesauri
Oxford English Dictionary
Comprehensive dictionary of the English language, including word origins.
Merriam-Webster's Dictionary and Thesaurus
Spanish, French, German, and more
Offers dictionaries for English, French, German, Spanish, and Italian. Also includes a thesaurus and translator.
Managed by the Department of Health and Human Services, the system houses information on over 1,000 grant programs and vets grant applications for 26 federal grant-making agencies.
Office of Research and Sponsored Programs
Links to SUNY Oswego's Office of Research & Sponsored Programs, which is responsible for the development, coordination and financial management of all contracts and grants at the College.
Sponsored Program Information Network
Database of national and international government and private funding sources. Both the database and Spin Instructions are provided by SUNY Oswego’s Office of Research and Sponsored Programs.
Purdue Online Writing Lab: Grant Writing
The Writing Center at UNC-Chapel Hill
Bartlett’s familiar quotations
Quotations Home Page
Feb 23, 2017 2:22 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
* General Guides & Resources
Ask a Librarian