Penfield Library Catalog
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowDeep coverage of sustainability issues, with indexing beginning in the 1940s. Also full text of current core journals and books.
Covers: 1940 - 1974 (citations only), 1975 - present (citations & full text)
- Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new windowThis database contains articles about environmental science and sustainability; the content is pulled from various subject areas, such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse this search engine to find scholarly works, including many online journals. You can set your preferences to link to Penfield's many databases in this way: 1) choose settings from menu in upper left corner; 2) click library links in the left navigation bar and type 'SUNY Oswego' in box; 3) select the link provided; 4) click 'save.'
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowAn interdisciplinary database covering topics related to environmental concerns and sustainability. Includes indexing and abstracts for articles and books.
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Arts & Sciences VII, Language & Literature, and Life Sciences Collections. An archive of important scholarly journal literature and ebooks. In most cases, full text of the journal is available from the first issue to date.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowThe New York Times includes both indexing and full text from January 1985 to the present.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowBrand name for a group of databases.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowThe most current and comprehensive indexing/abstracting source for the chemical literature. Follow this link to register with CAS to create an account, to connect to SciFinder-n, and to find links for support and training.
Covers: 1900 - present
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch a wide variety of social science journals for information about anthropology, communications, economics, ethics, law, mass media, political studies, psychology, social work, and more.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull text for over 500 journals in sociology and related disciplines, and indexing for over 3000 others. Also includes relevant books and conference papers, many of them full-text, and allows searching of cited references.
Covers: 1895 - present (varies by title)
- Women and Social Movements This link opens in a new windowDigital library of primary source documents relevant to United States history of women and social movements. Includes dozens of document collections with tens of thousands of document pages. Images, transcriptions, and supporting information are available for each document.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowDatabase created from the online catalogs of books, media and other materials located in many libraries worldwide. (This is NOT AN INDEX FOR ARTICLES). Use to identify titles that you may be able to borrow through Interlibrary Loan (ILLIAD).
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street.