Changes that affect everyone

Please be sure to look at our expectations for users page. In a nutshell:

  • Campus guidelines about masks & social distancing apply to the library.
  • Food isn't currently permitted in the library (though it was in pre-COVID times). Covered drinks are still okay.
  • Please don't move things or touch books/CDs/DVDs on the shelves.

Hours  

Library building hours

These hours are for Spring semester:

Days Hours
Sunday (starting Feb. 7) 12pm - 7pm
Monday - Thursday 8am - 7pm
Friday 8am - 4:30pm
Saturday Closed

Research Help Desk Hours

You can get research help 24/7 - just go to our Ask A Librarian page.

During the spring semester, Oswego librarians will answer during the below hours. Our partner librarians from other libraries will answer outside those times. 

Days Hours
Sunday Not available
Monday - Thursday 11am - 5pm
5pm - 7pm (student peer reference assistants)
Friday 11am - 3pm
Saturday Not available

Looking for hours for the week of January 25? See our Ask A Librarian page.

Archives & Special Collections Hours

Archives & Special Collections will be open by appointment only.

Visit the Archives & Special Collections website to schedule your visit.

Computers & Printing 

Computers & Computer Labs

Some of the computers in the library (primarily on the first floor) have been disabled in order to accommodate social distancing guidelines.

The 24 Hour space has been expanded to include the Penfield computer lab (the lab that's on the Lanigan-side of the building). Both black and white, and color printing are available in these spaces. 

Laptops & other equipment (cameras, chargers, etc.)

Unfortunately, we are not circulating any physical items with short checkout periods in order to reduce possible transmission of COVID-19.  

Spaces

Shelves on the 2nd & 3rd Floors

In order to reduce the transmission of COVID-19, we ask that you request items through our library catalog. This includes books, CDs, DVDs, etc. Library personnel will retrieve these items for you, usually within 1 to 3 business days. We'll email you when your items are ready for pick-up. 

Group spaces

Group spaces cannot currently be reserved, but they're available on a first come, first served basis. 

Each room has a sign indicating the maximum number of people allowed in the room (usually 1 or 2 people).

Masks must be worn in all group study rooms, even if you're alone in the space. Food is not allowed. 

Furniture

Please don't move the furniture - we've rearranged, removed, or taped off the furniture to accommodate social distancing guidelines. 

Services 

Distance & Online Learners

Unfortunately, due to budget constraints we are unable to ship items to patrons' homes.

Interlibrary Loan

Because all incoming materials need to be quarantined for a week before being processed, interlibrary loan requests for books and other physical materials will likely take longer than usual. 

We can borrow many materials from other libraries at no cost to the library, or to you. However, some materials would incur a cost; we may need to cancel those requests due to budget constraints. 

Due to budget constraints we are unable to ship items to patrons' homes, all requested materials must be picked up at Penfield Library.

Maker Services

The Maker Space is currently closed, and 3D printing is not available. 

Course Reserves

Unfortunately, we are not circulating any physical items with short checkout periods in order to reduce possible transmission of COVID-19.

Our expectations of library users

Masks

Per the campus guidelines, you are required to wear a mask that covers your nose and mouth. If you are found not wearing a mask:

  • We will ask you (politely) to put on a mask.

  • If you refuse, we will ask for your ID and then ask you to leave. All refusals will be reported to either Student Affairs (students) or Human Resources (faculty, staff).

  • If you refuse to leave, we will report you to University Police as a trespasser.

All Library employees, including student workers, are authorized to take these actions.

If you are a student that has secured a library study carrel for the semester, you may remove your mask while you are in the carrel.

Social Distancing

Per the campus guidelines, you must remain 6 feet apart from others. Please do not congregate in library spaces, even if you are with your pod-mates.

Library Furniture & Spaces

  • Books:

    Current data suggests that COVID-19 can live on books for 3-4 days. In order to minimize possible transmission of the virus, we ask that you refrain from touching books. You will notice barriers that prevent you from entering the aisles - please do not move or go around the barriers.

    If you need a book, you can request it through the library catalog. Library staff will retrieve the book for you and you will be able to pick it up within 1-3 business days. (Faculty & staff may request items starting Aug. 3; students may request items starting Aug. 24.)

    If you remove a book from the shelves and bring it to the check out desk, we will need to quarantine the item for 4 days. You will not be able to check out the book immediately.

  • Furniture:

    Please do not move library furniture. We have carefully moved or removed library furniture in order to accommodate social distancing guidelines.

  • Study carrels:

    • We will continue to have study carrels available that can be reserved by students for the entire semester.

    • Carrels that are reserved for one day will not be available this semester.

    • Commuter students will be given priority in study carrel assignment, since they do not have a dedicated space on campus to study (such as a dorm room).

Food & Drink

Drink: Covered beverages (including coffee drinks) are still permitted in the library.

Food: Food is no longer permitted in the library. This is because eating involves the prolonged absence of a mask.