Selection of Books/E-books available from Penfield Library
Accidental Presidents by
Call Number: Circulating Collection, 3rd Floor JK609 .C59 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Millard Fillmore by
Call Number: Special Collections, Lower Level, E427 .S29 2001
Publication Date: 2001
This text is an account of Millard Fillmore's life drawn largely from the Fillmore's personal papers, many of which have previously been supressed, unavailable, or believed lost. The book covers Fillmore's life from his ancestry to his presidency and death.
Millard Fillmore: Biography Of A President by
Call Number: HeinOnline U.S. Presidential Library
Publication Date: 2015
This book by Robert J. Rayback has depicted the life and background of Millard Fillmore, the 13th President of the United States. There is much insight into the three years Fillmore spent as president and the role he had in politics from the 1850s to later years.
The First White House Library by
Call Number: Z732.W18 F57 2010
Publication Date: 2010
"Examines the founding in 1850 of the first library in the White House purchased with public funds, which was intended to remain there as a permanent collection. Documents the contents of the library and considers it within the political, social, and intellectual milieu of mid-nineteenth-century America"--Provided by publisher.
The Presidencies of Zachary Taylor and Millard Fillmore by
Call Number: Circulating Collection, 3rd Floor E421 .S65 1988
Publication Date: 1988
"In this book Elbert B. Smith disagrees sharply with traditional interpretations of Taylor and Fillmore, the twelfth and thirteenth presidents (from 1848 to 1853). Smith argues that Taylor and Fillmore have been seriously misrepresented and underrated. They faced a terrible national crisis and accepted every responsibility without flinching or directing blame toward anyone else."--Publisher.
The Unknown President by
Call Number: Special Collections, Lower Level, E426 .G7
Publication Date: 1981-01-01
Presidential Anecdotes by
Call Number: Circulating Collection, 3rd Floor E176.1 .B68
Publication Date: 1981
From George Washington to Bill Clinton, a collection of delightful anecdotes including Millard Fillmore.
The Forgotten Four : The American Whig Presidents by
Call Number: JK2331 .F39 2021
Publication Date: 2021
William Harrison, John Tyler, Zachary Taylor and Millard Fillmore: four names that rarely appear in American political discussions. The American Whig Party presidents are among the most forgotten in American political history, often as a result of the time period they presided over and being overshadowed by their more well-known successors. However, their impact on the United States was no less important than that of George Washington, Abraham Lincoln or Franklin Roosevelt. In many ways, they also laid the foundation for many of the great American leaders that would follow them. In this book, their lives, the impact they had on the United States, and why they are forgotten yet are still as important to American history as their predecessors and their successors will be examined. From Harrison's war with Tecumseh to Fillmore's signing of the Compromise of 1850, these four men helped shape the United States and paved the way for the dramatic political and social changes that would sweep the nation in the second half of the 19th century and beyond.
Accidental Presidents by
Call Number: JK609 .C59 2019
Publication Date: 2019
"The strength and prestige of the American presidency has waxed and waned since George Washington. Accidental Presidents looks at eight men who came to the office without being elected to it. It demonstrates how the character of the man in that powerful seat affects the nation and world. Eight men have succeeded to the presidency when the incumbent died in office. In one way or another they vastly changed our history. Only Theodore Roosevelt would have been elected in his own right. Only TR, Truman, and LBJ were re-elected. John Tyler succeeded William Henry Harrison who died 30 days into his term. He was kicked out of his party and became the first president threatened with impeachment. Millard Fillmore succeeded esteemed General Zachary Taylor. He immediately sacked the entire cabinet and delayed an inevitable Civil War by standing with Henry Clay's compromise of 1850. Chester Arthur, the embodiment of the spoils system, was so reviled as James Garfield's successor that he had to defend himself against plotting Garfield's assassination; but he reformed the civil service. Andrew Johnson, who succeeded our greatest president, sided with remnants of the Confederacy in Reconstruction. Theodore Roosevelt broke up the trusts. Calvin Coolidge silently cooled down the Harding scandals and preserved the White House for the Republican Herbert Hoover and the Great Depression. Truman surprised everybody when he succeeded the great FDR and proved an able and accomplished president. Lyndon B. Johnson was named to deliver Texas electorally. He led the nation forward on Civil Rights but failed on Vietnam. Accidental Presidents adds immeasurably to our understanding of the power and limits of the American presidency in critical times"-- Provided by publisher.
Profiles Volume I: historic & influential people from Buffalo & WNY the 1800s: Residents of Western New York that contributed to local, regional and national history, commerce and culture by
Call Number: F129.B853 A2 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Profiles Volume I: Historic & Influential People from Buffalo & WNY - the 1800s chronicles 100 profiles of people from Buffalo and Western New York who helped shape local, regional, New York State and American history during the 1800s. It includes the accomplishments of area residents in politics, law, medicine, manufacturing, religion, music and other fields of business. In addition, the book describes events that affected the WNY community. From the War of 1812, building of the Buffalo Harbor, opening of the Erie Canal, financial crisis of 1837, development of the Delaware Avenue mansions, building of the railroads, beginning of manufacturing, creation of neighborhoods, Olmsted Parks and harnessing the power of the Niagara, meet the people that created and participated in the evolution of the WNY community.
Rutherford B. , Who Was He? by
Call Number: Juvenile Collection, 2nd Floor PS3569.I546 A6 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Forty-three men with forty-three passions, but with one thing in common: a presidential place in America's history. With her gift for unforgettable rhythm and innovative rhyme, Marilyn Singer brings the presidents of the United States to life--from Washington to Obama--and contextualizes them in their time. Illustrations by John Hendrix are full of hilarious wit and refined exuberance, and backmatter enriches the experience with short biographies, quotes by each president, and more.
Hail to the Chief by
Call Number: Juvenile Collection, 2nd Floor JK517 .R63 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Although we know the president of the United States as the person who runs the government of our nation, do we know what the responsibilities of the president actually are? And, do we understand what effect his actions have? HAIL TO THE CHIEF: THE AMERICAN PRESIDENCY investigates the office of the presidency and its power. It details how this job was inaugurated, how it has changed over time, and why the person in this position is considered one of the most important and powerful leaders in the world. Examples of presidential actions and orders include every president from George Washington to Bill Clinton. Unique because of its thematic exploration of the presidency, rather than the people who have held the job, HAIL TO THE CHIEF is a significant and fascinating introduction to the mechanics of the American government. Alan Witschonke's bold portraits and sweeping depictions of the circumstances that have made the American presidency a notable and compelling subject for the entire world will capture the interest of young readers. HAIL TO THE CHIEF brings vividly into focus all the exciting details of the office of the President of the United States.
Lives of the Presidents by
Call Number: Juvenile Collection, 2nd Floor E176.1 .K78 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Every U.S. president is the focus of public scrutiny, but how well do we know these men? What kind of fathers do presidents make? Husbands? Neighbors? Other books focus on the historical achievements of those who have occupied our country's highest office;Lives of the Presidentslooks instead at their bad habits, silly nicknames, and strange pets. Every president--from George Washington to Barack Obama--is included, with an emphasis on those who have had the greatest impact on history. Discover their high points, low points, and the times in between. In this stunning addition to their acclaimed series, Kathleen Krull and Kathryn Hewitt take us beyond politics and photo opportunities, revealing the entertaining, complex, and very real lives of the presidents.
So You Want to Be President? by
Call Number: Juvenile Collection, 2nd Floor E176.1 .S699 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Winner of the 2001 Randolph Caldecott Award!So you want to be President! Why not? Presidents have come in every variety. They've been generals like George Washington and actors like Ronald Reagan, big like William Howard Taft and small like James Madison, handsome like Franklin Pierce and homely like Abraham Lincoln.From the embarrassment of skinny-dipping John Quincy Adams to the mischievous adventure of Theodore Roosevelt's pony, Judith St. George shares the backroom facts, the spitfire comments, and the comical anecdotes that have been part and parcel of America's White House.Hilariously illustrated by Caldecott honor-winning artist David Small, this celebration shows us the foibles, quirks, and the humanity of forty-one men who have risen to one of the most powerful positions in the world.