Where to search

The library subscribes to about 100 databases, and many of them have resources that are specific to a particular subject area. Here are the best databases for finding resources on counseling and psychology in general:

Before we jump in to the What to search for section, I want to mention two things.

Keeping track of your sources

It's a good idea to keep track of the articles you find, so it's easy for you to refer back to them when you're working on your literature review and reference list. There are several ways to do this, but here are a few I recommend: 

  • Download the article PDFs and store them in a Google Drive folder (especially useful for you all since you're working in groups, but works well for independent projects as well)

  • Save the URL of useful articles. If you want to do this, there are instructions below for each database. 

     VERY IMPORTANT: Do not copy the URL from the address bar! That is a temporary link and will stop working almost immediately. 

Finding the permanent URL in Psych Combo

  1. Click on Permalink on the right hand side of the screen

  2. Copy the URL that appears above the article title & paste it into a document. 

    Don't bookmark the URL! It will save the temporary URL instead of the stable URL.

Finding the permanent URL in Psychology Database

  1. Click on the Abstract/Details tab above the article title
  2. Scroll down until you see the Document URL, and copy & paste it into a document. 

    Don't bookmark the URL! It will save the temporary URL instead of the stable URL.

Using database citation tools

Many databases provide citations for their articles. These should only be considered a starting point - they usually get a few things wrong, like capitalization. See the APA Style section of this guide for more information.

Finding citations in Psych Combo 

When looking at a specific result, click on the Cite link, in the right sidebar, and then scroll down until you see the citation style you need. 

Finding citations in Psychology Database

When looking at a specific result, click on the Cite button, make sure APA is selected, and then copy the provided citation. (The last part in the example below should be removed.)

FYI: This database still uses the 6th edition of the APA Style Manual, which is outdated. (The 7th edition came out in 2019.)