Skip to Main Content
Penfield Library Home Page

Penfield Library Multi-year Collection Review: Home

About the Project

The Library has started our first comprehensive evaluation of the entire main print collection.  This project will result in a significant reduction in the print collection which will make our collection more current, relevant, and inclusive; make our books more accessible by wheelchair, and in preparation for future library renovations. 

Though this project involves deselecting physical materials to promote sustainable growth, the Library is firmly committed to ensuring that no community member loses access to any of the resources they require to do their work. Deselection of Library materials is simply the selection process in reverse, and is equally as important as acquisition for responsible stewardship of University resources and collections.

Through a combination of digital licensing, consortial partnerships, and our interlibrary loan program, we will ensure continuous access to relevant materials, both during and long after after this project’s completion.

If you have questions about the project, please contact Kathryn Johns-Masten, Collection Management Librarian or Sarah Weisman, Library Director.

Faculty and Staff Participation

  • We would like faculty and staff feedback in this review process.
  • Submit feedback about items you think we should retain on the Feedback form.
  • Faculty can request up to 30 titles per list to be permanently transferred to their offices for research purposes.
  • Alternatively copy a file to share comments/feedback by the due date
  • Are there other ways you would like to participate? Contact Kathryn Johns-Masten

Fall 2024 Reviews

Library of Congress Subject Headings

M - Music and books on music

N - Fine Arts

Q - Science (General)

QA - Mathematics (includes Computer Science)

QB - Astronomy

QC - Physics

QD - Chemistry

QH - Natural History - Biology

QK - Botany

 

How it will Work

  • Portions of the main circulating collection will be systematically reviewed, starting spring 2023 and continuing through 2027.
  • Subject liaison librarians are included in all steps of this process.
  • The Collection Management Librarian will post a list of books that have been identified for removal from the collection.
  • Interested faculty are invited to review each list.
  • Faculty and Staff feedback on the items on the list can be submitted via the Feedback form.
  • Each list will be available for review for a month, after which point the materials will be removed from the catalog, processed for discard, and recycled when possible.

Criteria

Candidates for removal from the collection will be evaluated using criteria including circulation statistics, condition of the item, and outdated content. We also consider curricular relevance and availability of online access as factors when we decide to withdraw these items.

Current review criteria: Titles with zero to 1 use and with publication dates prior to 2011-2014 (depending on subject area).
Note: Materials purchased during the past 10-13 years (depending on subject area) are excluded from this review.

Collection Management Policy Scope

The community served by the Penfield Library is first and foremost the SUNY Oswego students and employees, and all materials acquired by the library will reflect the needs of this population. We support the resources surrounding and supporting classes to help SUNY Oswego students be successful. Due to space and financial limitations, the library cannot duplicate the collections and services of local public libraries.

Full Penfield Library Collection Management Policy

Deselection Lists

The following lists are available until October 4, 2024:

Music M  4,482 total titles - 3,783 on review list (Contains Scores)

Literature on Music ML  5,950 total titles - 2,629 on review list

Instruction and Study of Music MT  973 total titles - 551 on review list

Visual Arts N  3,573 total titles - 1,487 on review list

Architecture NA  1,624 total titles - 670 on review list

Sculpture NB 675 total titles - 295 on review list

Drawing, Design. Illustration. NC  1,079 total titles - 503 on review list

Painting ND 2,455 total titles - 1,073 on review list

Print Media NE 338 total titles - 153 on review list

Decorative Arts NK 1,389 total titles - 809 on review list

Arts in General NX 624 total titles - 331 on review list

All files are copyable to allow for easier sharing and adding comments/feedback. Select File then "Make a copy"

Terminology

Librarians use a variety of ways to talk about removing items from the colleciton.  The following terms all mean the same thing:

  • Deselection
  • Discarding
  • Removal
  • Weeding
  • Withdrawal

 

Ask a Librarian