New to Scholarly and Scientific Articles?
Scholarly and scientific articles can seem overwhelming at first, but don't be discouraged by their complexity! You're up to the challenge. It can often be helpful to skim the article first to get a feel for what's being discussed before reading the most relevant sections more closely. The following resources have more tips about strategic reading:
Find Journal Articles: Key Databases
- Fine Arts Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search millions of articles about drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. Diverse resource for fine arts research. - Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new windowThis database contains articles from hundreds of journals, covering art, architecture, design, history, philosophy, music, literature, and theatre.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles, interviews, obituaries, book reviews, and original works of fiction, drama, and poetry. Also included are reviews of ballets, dance, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
Covers: 1928-1941 (citations only); 1942 - present (citations & full text) - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. In most cases, full text of the journal is available from the first issue to date. Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Jewish Studies, Language & Literature, Life Sciences, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants, 19th Century Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa.
NOTE: Artstor has been combined with JSTOR. As of August 1, 2024, images from Artstor are accessible through JSTOR. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowLiterary criticism, languages, linguistics, film, and folklore from over 4,000 journals, books and dissertations published worldwide.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracting coverage of the major journals in communication, mass media and other related fields. Almost half of the journals are available in full text.
Search a general or humanities database to find scholarly articles.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including: sciences, social sciences, arts & literature, ethnic studies, and many more. Full-text for over 6,100 titles (5,100 peer-reviewed); indexing and abstracting for 10,600 titles; complete historical coverage and citation searching for select titles.
Covers: Varies by journal title (many 1975 - present) - Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse this search engine to find scholarly works, including many online journals. You can set your preferences to link to Penfield's many databases in this way: 1) choose settings from menu in upper left corner; 2) click library links in the left navigation bar and type 'SUNY Oswego' in box; 3) select the link provided; 4) click 'save.'
Find News Articles
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowFull text coverage for major national and international newspapers, plus television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts.
- News Resources GuideGuide to additional news resources, including current news, historical news, regional news, and more.
- New York Times All Access This link opens in a new windowSee our guide on how to set up and access your NYT All Access account.
New York Times All Access includes everything The New York Times offers:
● News: Understand the world with original reporting from 1,700 journalists
● Games: Spelling Bee, Wordle, The Crossword and more.
● Cooking: Recipes, advice and inspiration for any occasion.
● Wirecutter: Independent reviews for thousands of products
● The Athletic: In-depth, personalized sports journalism.
● The TimesMachine & New York Times Article Archive: digital replicas of issues from 1851-2002.
Registered users can download up to 5 PDFs per day.
Once registered, students will have access until 12/31 of the graduation year selected and faculty/staff will have 4 years of full account access, after which they must re-authenticate by visiting accessnyt.com.