Background Information
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP)A referreed online resource, written and updated by experts in the field.
- New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, (6 v.)Also available in paper copy. Circulating Collection, 3rd Floor / CB9 .N49 2005
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (10 v.), B 51 .R68 1998
- Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics (4 v.), BJ 63 .E44 1998
- The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy - B41.C35 2015
Research Starters
We all use Wikipedia, but if you want something authoritative and reliable, Britannica® Academic is a great option. Like all encyclopedias, this source is a good way to find background information on a topic.
- Encyclopedia Britannica - Academic This link opens in a new windowIf the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Britannica Academic.
Opposing Viewpoints is a great source for information about current events, especially controversial ones. They provide a wide variety of sources on each topic - everything from opinion essays to scholarly articles. We recommend this source when you're having difficulty coming up with a topic. It's also a good tool if you already have an idea, but aren't sure what direction to take.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
If the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Opposing Viewpoints.
This source is very similar to Opposing Viewpoints in Context - it's a good place to look for information on controversial issues.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowIf the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Points of View Reference Center.
Plan Your Research
Not sure how long it will take you to complete an assignment? Want to make sure that you're not stuck at the last minute?
The Assignment Calculator can help you plan your work. Don't forget to email yourself the schedule, or print it - both options are at the bottom of the page.