New to Scholarly and Scientific Articles?
Scholarly and scientific articles can seem overwhelming at first, but don't be discouraged by their complexity! You're up to the challenge. It can often be helpful to skim the article first to get a feel for what's being discussed before reading the most relevant sections more closely. The following resources have more tips about strategic reading:
Key Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including: sciences, social sciences, arts & literature, ethnic studies, and many more. Full-text for over 6,100 titles (5,100 peer-reviewed); indexing and abstracting for 10,600 titles; complete historical coverage and citation searching for select titles.
Covers: Varies by journal title (many 1975 - present) - Research Library This link opens in a new windowSearch over 2,700 periodicals for information on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowLiterary criticism, languages, linguistics, film, and folklore from over 4,000 journals, books and dissertations published worldwide.
Covers: 1926 - present
- JSTOR Multiple CollectionsArts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Language & Literature, and Ecology Collections. An archives of important scholarly journal literature. In most cases, full text of the journal is available from the first issue through issues from a few years ago.
- Omnifile Full-Text Select (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowA full-text database of almost 2000 periodical publications, including coverage of the sciences, humanities, education & other social sciences, business and information science.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles, interviews, obituaries, book reviews, and original works of fiction, drama, and poetry. Also included are reviews of ballets, dance, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
Covers: 1928-1941 (citations only); 1942 - present (citations & full text)
- RI-Opac: Literature Database for the Middle Ages"The RI-Opac is a freely accessible database, covering all disciplines of medieval sciences for the European language sphere." Free text search on English terms will retrieve primarly sources written in English. Search with the English Thesaurus to retrieve non-English sources.
Specialized Databases
For Primary Sources in Magazines, Newspapers and Images
- New York Times Article Archives, 1851-presentOnline index. To get full-text from Penfield, check the link Find a Specific Journal. SUNY Oswego students, faculty, and staff may request free copy service for those articles available only in microfilm.
- NYT Theatre SectionLook for articles and reviews of current performances. (For older New York Times articles, use the link above).
- The (London) Times Index (title varies), Reference, 1st Floor, 1790-1998Index to the respected Times of London, England. (Microfilm available from 1785 - 1999.) SUNY Oswego students, faculty, and staff may request free copy service for those articles available only in microfilm.
- The (London) Times Index, Online, 1785-1985Index to the respected Times of London, England.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowNOTE: Artstor has been combined with JSTOR. As of August 1, 2024, images from Artstor are accessible through JSTOR.
