Research Starters
We all use Wikipedia, but if you want something authoritative and reliable, Britannica® Academic is a great option. Like all encyclopedias, this source is a good way to find background information on a topic.
- Encyclopedia Britannica - Academic This link opens in a new windowIf the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Britannica Academic.
Opposing Viewpoints is a great source for information about current events, especially controversial ones. They provide a wide variety of sources on each topic - everything from opinion essays to scholarly articles. We recommend this source when you're having difficulty coming up with a topic. It's also a good tool if you already have an idea, but aren't sure what direction to take.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
If the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Opposing Viewpoints.
This source is very similar to Opposing Viewpoints in Context - it's a good place to look for information on controversial issues.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowIf the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Points of View Reference Center.
General Reference Resources
The encyclopedias and other sources on this guide provide good overview information, including key search terms and often lists of more sources. Use these sources to focus your topic, build a vocabulary, and find additional sources as you begin your research.
- Encyclopedia of Food and Culture, (3 v.)Also available in paper copy: GT2850 .E53 2003
- Encyclopedia of World Cultures, Ref GN 307 E5 1991, and supplement 2002
- Facts About the World's Languages: An Encyclopedia of the World's Major Languages, Past and Present, Ref P371 .F33 2001
- Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands, HF 5389.M67 2006
Selected Dictionaries
- WordReference.comProvides access to dictionaries as follows: English to Spanish, Spanish to English, English to French, French to English, English to Italian, Italian to English, English to German, German to English, English to Russian, Russian to English.
- LEOFeatures German-English, German-French, and German-Spanish dictionaries and language tools.
- Oxford-Duden German Dictionary, Ref PF 3640.O94 2005
- Langenscheidt Routledge German Technical Dictionary, Ref T 10.L36 2004
- NTC's Dictionary of Latin American Spanish, PC 4822.O65 1997
- SpanishDictSpanish to English to Spanish translator, dictionary, verb conjugations, and language guide.
- Pocket Oxford Chinese Dictionary, Ref PL 1455.P63 2003
- Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary, Ref PC 2640.O9 1994
Specialized Reference Sources - French
- Medieval France: An Encyclopedia, DC33.2 .M44 1995
Specialized Reference Sources - German
- Encyclopedia of German Literature, PT91 .E53 2000
- Oxford Companion to German Literature, PT41 .G3 1997
Specialized Reference Sources - Latin America & Spain
- Latin American Writers, PQ7081.A1 L37 1989
- Latino and Latina writers, PS153.H56 L39 2004
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican CulturesAlso available in paper copy: F1218.6 .O95 2001
Specialized Reference Sources - Asia, India and Africa
- Encyclopedia of India, Ref Ds 405 E556 2006
Plan Your Research
Not sure how long it will take you to complete an assignment? Want to make sure that you're not stuck at the last minute?
The Assignment Calculator can help you plan your work. Don't forget to email yourself the schedule, or print it - both options are at the bottom of the page.