Research Starters
We all use Wikipedia, but if you want something authoritative and reliable, Britannica® Academic is a great option. Like all encyclopedias, this source is a good way to find background information on a topic.
- Encyclopedia Britannica - Academic This link opens in a new windowIf the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Britannica Academic.
Opposing Viewpoints is a great source for information about current events, especially controversial ones. They provide a wide variety of sources on each topic - everything from opinion essays to scholarly articles. We recommend this source when you're having difficulty coming up with a topic. It's also a good tool if you already have an idea, but aren't sure what direction to take.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
If the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Opposing Viewpoints.
This source is very similar to Opposing Viewpoints in Context - it's a good place to look for information on controversial issues.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowIf the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Points of View Reference Center.
Background Sources
The encyclopedias and other sources on this guide provide good overview information, including key search terms and often lists of more sources.
Additional print sources on the Biological Sciences can be found in the QH - QR call number area of the first floor Reference section.
- Birds of the WorldProvides comprehensive life histories for each of the birds found around the world.
- Encyclopedia of EvolutionAlso available in paper copy: Ref QH 360.2 E54 2002
- Encyclopedia of LifeOpen source encyclopedia contining information about plant, animal, and microorganism species from around the world.
- Genetics Home ReferenceNational Library of Medicine's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes related to those conditions.
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, 2nd edition, 2003Also available in paper copy: QL 3 .G7813 2003
- A Dictionary of BiologyWith over 5600 entries - over 120 of them new - it provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry.
Plan Your Research
Not sure how long it will take you to complete an assignment? Want to make sure that you're not stuck at the last minute?
The Assignment Calculator can help you plan your work. Don't forget to email yourself the schedule, or print it - both options are at the bottom of the page.
Books on Research & Writing in Biology
Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences by Call Number: QH304 .M36 2001
Writing in the Biological Sciences by Call Number: QH304 .H64 2019
How to Publish in Biological Sciences by Call Number: QH304 .M428 2023
Writing in Biology by Call Number: QH304 .R65 2016
