Research Starters
We all use Wikipedia, but if you want something authoritative and reliable, Britannica® Academic is a great option. Like all encyclopedias, this source is a good way to find background information on a topic.
- Encyclopedia Britannica - Academic This link opens in a new windowIf the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Britannica Academic.
CQ Researcher is a great source for information about current events and controversies. However, it also has some useful historical information, usually about political events (ex. U.S.-Iran relations). We recommend this source when you're having difficulty coming up with a topic. It's also a good tool if you already have an idea, but aren't sure what direction to take.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowIf the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access CQ Researcher.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
If the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Opposing Viewpoints.
This source is very similar to Opposing Viewpoints in Context - it's a good place to look for information on controversial issues.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowIf the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Points of View Reference Center.
General Reference Resources
- Education in the United States: A Documentary History, LA 205 C53
- Encyclopedia of American Education, LB 17 U54 2001
- World Education Encyclopedia, 2nd edition, (3 v.)Also available in paper copy: LB15 .W87 2002
- Encyclopedia of Education, 2nd edition, (8v.)Also available in paper copy: LB15 .E47 2003
- Encyclopedia of School PsychologyAlso available in paper copy: Ref LB 1027.55.E523 2005
Careers and Occupations
- Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance - Ref HF5381.E52 2015
- Occupational Information Network - O*NETReplaces the Dictionary of Occupational Titles (DOT). "The O*NET database and related products will help millions of employers, workers, educators, and students make informed decisions about education, training, career choices, and work."
- Occupational Outlook Handbook"The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives."
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowPremier index of Education resources, including abstracts of articles from over 1000 journals and of documents such as teaching guides, research reports, lesson plans, and test and evaluation instruments.
Covers: 1966 - present - Education Source This link opens in a new windowSearch education journals about all levels of education - from early childhood to higher education - as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Covers: Varies by journal title
Special Education
- Encyclopedia of Special Education, Ref LC4007 .E53 2014
- Individuals with Disabilities Education Act Amendments of 1997Full text of the law from the Government Printing Office.
Standards
- New York State Education Department: Curriculum Instruction & Instructional TechnologyBrowse by discipline for standards, resources, assessment information. Many standards publications also available in paper in the Teaching Resource Center --"library use only" section.
Plan Your Research
Not sure how long it will take you to complete an assignment? Want to make sure that you're not stuck at the last minute?
The Assignment Calculator can help you plan your work. Don't forget to email yourself the schedule, or print it - both options are at the bottom of the page.