- Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new windowCompany and industry intelligence on thousands of global companies with in-depth analysis through current news, statistical data, comprehensive reports, periodical articles, news articles, and press releases. Detailed information for domestic and international companies and associations, including information on corporate hierarchical structures, investment reports, corporate chronologies company histories, and some SWOT analyses. Also includes brands and product information, industry and company rankings, financial overviews, and demographic and market information for countries across the globe.
- Company Profiles From Business Source CompleteProduced by Datamonitor. Includes public and private companies.
- Edgar SEC Company SearchFind the official Securities and Exchange Commission filings for public corporations. Includes annual reports.
- D&B HooversSome free content--covers public and private companies
- International Directory of Company HistoriesAvailable online through Business Insights: Essentials.
- SWOT Analyses from Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowStrengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities and Threats (SWOT) analyses from Datamonitor PLC . A subset of the Business Source Premier database. Add your company name on the second line and click search to retrieve specific results.
- NAICS & SIC Identification ToolsA NAICS (pronounced NAKES) Code is a classification within the North American Industry Classification System. The NAICS System was developed for use by Federal Statistical Agencies for the collection, analysis and publication of statistical data related to the US Economy.
- ThomasNetOnline version of Thomas Register of American Manufacturers
Annual Reports and Company Financials
The Annual Report is the main document used by most public companies to disclose company information to shareholders and are usually available from the company's website.
- EDGAR - Company Filings
All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR.
- E-Secretary of State.comOften when you cannot find data on smaller companies from major sites and databases, you can glean some information by searching and reviewing the filings that all companies must file in the state they operate in. Within states, the office that requires and maintains these filings is called the "Secretary of State," and this site provides a listing and links to each of their Web sites as well as a direct link to the "entity search" page where you can search for the target companies.