Research Starters
We all use Wikipedia, but if you want something authoritative and reliable, Britannica® Academic is a great option. Like all encyclopedias, this source is a good way to find background information on a topic.
- Encyclopedia Britannica - Academic This link opens in a new windowIf the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Britannica Academic.
Opposing Viewpoints is a great source for information about current events, especially controversial ones. They provide a wide variety of sources on each topic - everything from opinion essays to scholarly articles. We recommend this source when you're having difficulty coming up with a topic. It's also a good tool if you already have an idea, but aren't sure what direction to take.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
If the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Opposing Viewpoints.
This source is very similar to Opposing Viewpoints in Context - it's a good place to look for information on controversial issues.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowIf the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Points of View Reference Center.
Background and Reference Information on Native American History & Culture
- Handbook of North American Indians (13 v., more forthcoming), Ref E 77 .H25Published by Smithsonian Institution. Excellent, standard references to start with for historical information. Each volume has a regional focus. Some copies also in the circulating collection.
- American Indian History, E77 .A496 2003
- Columbia guide to American Indians of the Great Plains, E78.G73 F69 2003
- Encyclopedia of Native American Religions, E98.R3 H73 2001
- Encyclopedia of Multiculturalism, Ref E184.A1 E58 1994Can help in identifying various names of tribes, their geographies, and more.
- Voices of the American Indian Experience, E77 .W195 2009
- Race and Racism in the United States: An Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic, 2014The entries provide readers with comprehensive content supplemented by historical backgrounds, relevant examples from primary documents, and first-hand accounts.
Encyclopedia of the Great Plains Indians by Call Number: E78 .G73 E53 2007ISBN: 9780803298620Publication Date: 2007-03-01
Background and Reference Information on American Indian Law & Legal Documents
- Documents of American Indian diplomacy: treaties, agreements, and conventions, 1775-1979; KF8202 1999
- Early American Indian Documents: Treaties and Laws, 1607-1789; KF 8202 1979 (20 volumes).
- American Indian Law in a Nutshell, KF8205 .C36 2015
- Treaties with American Indians: An Encyclopedia of Rights, Conflicts and Sovereignty, KF 8203.6 T4 2008 (3 volumes).
- Encyclopedia of American Indian Civil Rights, KF8210 .C5 E53 1997
Background and Reference Information on Native American Literature, Art & Music
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, Ref ML 100 G16 1998
- St. James Guide to Native North American Artists, Ref NX652 .I53 S72 1998
Biographies
- Biographical Dictionary of American Indian History to 1900, 3rd Floor E89 .W35 2001
- Native American Women: A Biographical Dictionary, 3rd Floor E98.W8 B38 2001
Statistics & Demographics
- Nations within a Nation: Historical Statistics of American Indians, 3rd Floor E77 .S924 1987
Plan Your Research
Not sure how long it will take you to complete an assignment? Want to make sure that you're not stuck at the last minute?
The Assignment Calculator can help you plan your work. Don't forget to email yourself the schedule, or print it - both options are at the bottom of the page.
