Skip to main content

College History Guide

Books and Monographs / College Newspapers / Yearbooks / Catalogs, Bulletins, and Directories / Oral Histories

History of Higher Education

New York, State University College of Education, Oswego. 
Historical Sketches Relating to the First Quarter Century of Oswego Normal School, 1861 to 1886
1888. 
Circulating Collection LB 1921 .O72 A5 1861-1888
Special Collections LB 1921 .O72 A5 1861-1888

 

History of the First Half Century of Oswego State Normal and Training School, 1861-1911
1913. 
Circulating Collection LB 1921 .O72 A5 1861-1911
Special Collections  LB 1921 .O72 A5 1861-1911

 

Rogers, Dorothy. 
Oswego:  Fountainhead of Teacher Education; a Century in the Sheldon Tradition.  1961
Circulating Collection LD 3848 .O85 R6
Special Collections LD 3848 .O85 R6
Reference Storage LD 3848 .O85 R6
 

Rogers, Dorothy.  SUNY College at Oswego:  Its Second Century Unfolds.
1988. 
Circulating Collection LD 3848 .O85 R64 1988
Special Collections  LD 3848 .O85 R64 1988
Reference LD 3848 .O85 R64

Object Teaching / Object Lessons

Object teaching and object lessons were introduced in the U.S. by followers of Johann Pestalozzi.

Edward Austin Sheldon, founder of the Oswego Normal School, was instrumental in using and promoting this Pestalozzian method of instruction.

Origins of State Normal School

Richardson, Leonard Woods.  The Normal School Idea.  1900. 
Special Collections LB 1920 .R38

Peirce, Cyrus and Mary Swift.  The First State Normal School in America.  1969. 
Circulating Collection LB 1888 .F8 P4 1969

Mangun, Vernon Lamar.  The American Normal School:  Its Rise and Development in Massachusetts.  1928.  Circulating Collection LB 1887 .M3 1928a

Gordy, John Pancoast.  Rise and Growth of the Normal School Idea in the United States.  1891. 
Special Collections LB 1811 G66 r.b.

Finegan, Thomas E.  Some of New York’s Contributions to the Development and Standardization of State Normal Schools.  1914.  Special Collections LB 1920 .F5

Oswego Movement and Object Teaching

Aber, William M.  The Oswego State Normal School, 1893. 
Special Collections LB 1921 .O72 A14                  

Chittenden, Merritt D.  The Oswego Normal and Training School Plan of Cooperation.  1925. 
Special Collections LB 1921 .O72 C54

Dearborn, Ned Harland.  The Oswego Movement in American Education.  1925
Special Collections LB 1921 .O72 D4 1925
Circulating Collection LB 1921 .O72 D4 1969

Downs, Robert Bingham.  Heinrich Pestalozzi, Father of Modern Pedagogy. 
Circulating Collection LB 627 .D68

Hollis, Phillip Andrew.  The Contribution of Oswego Normal School to Educational Progress in the United States.  1898.  Special Collections LB 1921 .O72 H6

Hollis, Phillip Andrew.  “Dr. E.A. Sheldon and the Oswego Movement.” 
Education Monthly Magazine 18.9 (May 1898) 545-554.

Krüsi, Hermann.  Pestalozzi:  His Life, Work and Influence.  1875.  Special Collections 
RG-7-3,  Krüsi

Mayo, Elizabeth.  Lessons on Objects: as Given to Children Between the Ages of six and eight, in a Pestalozzi School, at Cheam, Surrey. 
Special Collections LB 1519 .M47 1861

Monroe, W.  “Herman Krosi [sic], an American Pestalozzian”.        Journal of Education, 53 (5 November 1903) 304-305     2001.009.0001     RG-0-1, Sheldon  02-23

Monroe, W.S.  History of the Pestalozzian Movement in the United States.  1969  C
irculating Collection LB 628 .M7 1969

Oursler, Robert Dale.  The Effect of Pestalozzian Theory and Practice on Music Education in the United States Between 1850 – 1900.  Circulating Collection MT3 .U5 O8

Radosavljevich, Paul Ranko.  The Oswego Movement and the New Education.  1937 
Special Collections LB 1921 .O72 R3

Ruddy, Michael.  Papers   Special Collections.  Includes “Pestalozzi and the Oswego Movement”.   
2009.061.0001      RG-19-1, Ruddy  01-05

Sheldon, E.A.  “Object Teaching”.  Barnard’s American Journal of Education.  14 (1864) 93-102
RG-0-1, Sheldon  02-23

Sheldon, Edward Austin.  American National Biography. V. 19 New York:  Oxford U.P. 781-82.
Reference Storage E176 .A516 1999 Reference Storage E176 .A5162 2002

Silber, Kate.  Pestalozzi, the Man and His Work. 
Circulating Collection LB 627 .S513 1973b

Stark, George K.  The Oswego Movement, 1861-1903.  1987. 
Special Collections RG-7-3, Stark.

Weimer, Hermann.  Concise History of Education:  From Solon to Pestalozzi. 
Circulating Collection LA 13 .W423 1963

Wilber, H.B.  “Object System of Instruction as Pursued in the School of Oswego.”  Barnard’s American Journal of Education 15 (1865) 189-208.  RG-0-1, Sheldon 02-23

Wolfe, Jennifer.  Learning from the Past:  Historical Voices in Early Childhood Education. Piney Branch Pr., 2000.  51-75  Circulating Collection LB 1139.23 .W64 2000, c. 2 Special Collections LB 1139.23 W64 2000, r.b.  

Ask a Librarian