What's on this page?
Images
You can find public domain & Creative Commons-licensed images on several sites:
- Wikimedia CommonsEverything on this site is either in the public domain, or CC-licensed. Click on the More Details link beneath each image to find out more about its use restrictions.
- Flickr
Flickr contains many images that are CC-licensed or in the public domain. First, search for your topic, then click on Any License at the top of your results. From there, you can select different options for how narrow you want your results.
- Getty MuseumGetty has collected images that (a) they hold the rights to or (b) are in the public domain. These images can be used for any purpose.
- PixabayFree public domain photos that can be used without copyright restrictions.
- Google Image Search
First, search for your topic. Then, click Tools at the top of your results. Use the Usage Rights drop-down menu to select a license.
- New York Public Library Digital CollectionsGood source for historical photos, maps, manuscripts, book art, and more. When you do a search, check the Show only public domain box that restricts your results to images you can use.
Music & Other Audio
Here are a few of our favorite sources for CC-licensed and public domain sound:
- Free Music Archive
Contains free music from many genres (hip hop, electronic, and many more).
Once you find an album or song you want to use, look for the License & More Info link in the right column:
License & More Info - Freesound
Free sound effects, offered with three different Creative Commons licenses (including Public Domain).After you search, you can filter by license on the right.
- SoundcloudMusic uploaded directly by music creators. (Note: Not everything on this site can be reused. The link above will search only tracks that can be reused.)
- MusOpenPublic domain recordings of classical music.
- JamendoEverything on this site uses a Creative Commons license.
- IncompetechRoyalty Free music (What does Royalty Free mean?)
- Carnegie Mellon's Auditory LabSound effects. Cannot be used for commercial purposes. Attribution / credit should be given to Laurie Heller, Ph.D.
- SoundbibleCreative Commons and Royalty Free sound effects.
- World Hip Hop BeatsJust beats. Provides an option to support their artists, but the download is free.
- Internet Archive - Audio ArchiveThe Internet Archive is an excellent source of public domain works and CC-licensed work. Make sure to check the record before you reuse any audio. You should see a CC license icon or a C with a line through it (the public domain mark). The example below shows both icons.
Free sound effects, offered with three different Creative Commons licenses (including Public Domain).
Film & Video
- YouTube
To find CC-licensed videos on YouTube, enter your search term, and click the Filters dropdown menu. In the fourth column (Features), you should see an option for Creative Commons:
If you want to download one of these videos, you can use ClipConverter or a similar tool.
- Vimeo
Vimeo hosts many Creative Commons videos. Search for a video on your topic, and then select More Filters on the left. You'll then be able to limit your results by CC license. If the original uploader has allowed it, these videos will include an option to download.
- FedFlixFedFlix is a joint effort between Public.Resource.Org & several government agencies. Their YouTube channel has many historical videos, all in the public domain.
- OpenFlixOpenFlix provides a directory of movies commonly thought to be in the public domain, as well as other works shared by their owners.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaThe Digital Public Library of America has over 7 million items. To locate films, search for your topic and then select moving image from the filters on the left. Rights information is listed in each item's record.
- Library of Congress: Film & VideoSearch all of the Library of Congress' digital collections for film and video. Be sure to check the Rights & Access statement at the bottom of each record.
Books
- Project GutenbergProject Gutenberg offers over 50,000 free ebooks. Most titles are in the public domain - look at the Bibrec tab to double-check.
- Google BooksGoogle has digitized many books that are in the public domain. To limit your search to books that Google knows are in the public domain, limit your search by adding date:1790-1922 either before or after your other search terms.
- Internet ArchiveThe Internet Archive is an excellent source for public domain and Creative Commons works.. If you find a book here, make sure to check the record for rights information. Look for a Creative Commons license or the phrase NOT_IN_COPYRIGHT (for public domain works).
- Hathi Trust Digital LibraryThe Hathi Trust has many titles in the public domain. You can check individual book records to see if they're in the public domain. Click on the Full view, and then look at the sidebar:
