Resource Guides: SUS 115 (Glidden): Start Your Research

Background Information

Reference sources, like encyclopedias, are great tools which introduce you to a new topic or idea. They provide an overview of your topic and lead you to additional sources of information.

Sustainable Development Handbook An electronic reference book that covers sustainable development, city planning, environmental policy, and energy conservation topics.

Encyclopedia of Climate Change, 2016
Also in print: QC981.8.G56 E46 2016

Databases

So, you've done your background research. Now you're ready to start learning more about your topic. Databases help you to quickly search through thousands of journal, magazines and newspaper articles to find more in-depth information about your topic.

Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Great for current issues research.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Deep coverage of sustainability issues, with indexing beginning in the 1940s. Also full text of current core journals and books.
Covers: 1940 - 1974 (citations only), 1975 - present (citations & full text)
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This interdisciplinary scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including: sciences, social sciences, arts & literature, ethnic studies, and many more. Full-text for over 6,100 titles (5,100 peer-reviewed); indexing and abstracting for 10,600 titles; complete historical coverage and citation searching for select titles.
Covers: Varies by journal title (many 1975 - present)

More Databases