What You Need To Know
Transferring materials to the college archives is simple with a couple of steps. Here are some things to consider before sending items or collections to Penfield Library:
- Is it of historical or administrative value to the institution?
- Does it contain any personal identifying information? Is the information protected by federal or state law?
- Is it currently still under the responsibility of the designated records manager?
- Is it considered property of of SUNY Oswego?
- Is it still being used by the department or office on campus?
- Are there other considerations that need to be addressed before being transferred to Penfield Library? Restrictions on who can access? Special equipment required to use? Fragile or delicate materials?
- Does it fit it within the scope of the college archives collection development policy? See examples below.
Information To Know To Submit Transfer
|Office or Department Name||Name of Office or Department Representative|
|Name of Object or Collection||Submission Date|
|Number of Boxes (if any)||SUNY Oswego Email Address|
|Number of Folders (if any)||Campus Telephone Number|
|Start and End Date of Collection (if known)|
|Arrangement of Collection (Alphabetical/Chronological/Numerical/Other or Unarranged)|
|Does This Contain Restricted Information?|
|Box and Folder Titles|
College Archives Collection Development Policy
Below is a list of materials that currently or historically have been collected for inclusion into the college archives. Materials produced by and/or for SUNY Oswego that document the history of the institution, including:
- Accreditation Files and Self-Study Reports for college, schools, programs
- Annual Reports
- These document yearly activities and achievements of departments, programs, schools, etc.
- Blueprints & Maps
- Bulletins (college catalog)
- Budget materials, Annual Budgets, Audits
- Correspondence - incoming and outgoing correspondence - relating to activities of the college, departments, schools and programs
- Class Schedules
- Course Outlines approved by the faculty
- Department and Academic Program Records
- Annual Reports
- Course Outlines
- Course Syllabi, samples of these
- Minutes of committees and faculty meetings
- Grant proposals that were successful
- Reports, publications, brochures related to Dept./Program activities, including staff or students
- Records about honors and awards given to faculty members
- Records about honors and awards given by the Departments
- Records of special gifts to Departments
- Faculty Scholarly & Creative Works
- These document professional faculty activity that supports the SUNY Board of Trustees requirements for professional advancement.
- Final Reports
- Fundraising campaign literature, promotional material, annual reports of activities
- Inauguration Materials
- Minutes & Agenda
- These document activity, policy, planning and final decisions of campus and department committees, councils, and task forces
- Official papers of the presidents of SUNY Oswego
- Photographs, slides Negatives
- Including publicity photographs, and other visual documentation of university activities. Each item should be identified with names of individual(s), subject of pictures, occasion, place, and date
- Plans, Reports, Feasibility Studies required by various agencies, such as affirmative action plans, official statistical reports, drafts & final report, etc.
- Public Relations Records
- Campus publications, selected news releases, and publicity written for the institution.
- Publications Related to Students, Faculty & College: Handbooks, Directories, Commencement Programs
- Recruitment Materials: general information, plans and reports
- Speeches of University Officials
- Statements prepared for delivery at meetings and other public functions
- Student Publications: Yearbook, Newspapers, literary magazines, etc.