Skip to main content

Library Services for Distance & Online Students

Accessing Articles

  • Most databases will use the phrase Full TextAvailable Online or some variation on that to indicate that you can access the article by clicking on the link.

  • You may see the phrase Full Text Finder; that means we likely have the article in another database. Clicking on the link should take you directly to the other database.

  • If you see the phrase Request via Interlibrary Loan (ILL), it means we don't have the article, but we can get it for you! Click on that link to complete the ILL request. All the information about the article will be filled in for you automatically.

If you've requested an article through interlibrary loan, we will send you a digital version of the article. It usually takes no more than a few days to fill these requests - we'll email you as soon as the article is available!

Accessing Books

New!

We are now offering delivery of books (both those we own and those we don't) directly to the Syracuse campus! More details below.

The following information applies only to:

  • Students who take all of their classes online and/or outside of Oswego (ex. Syracuse, Watertown)
  • Students whose mailing address is in the continental U.S.  

Getting Books The Library Owns

  • If you live outside of the 13126 zip code:

    • And you take at least 1 class at the Syracuse campus, we will deliver the books to the Syracuse campus. 

    • And you do NOT take any classes at the Syracuse campus (ex. you're only taking online classes this semester), we will mail books to you with free return postage.

  • If you live within the 13126 zip code, you will need to come to Penfield Library to locate and check out your books.


  1. Login to Illiad.

    If you've never used this site before, you'll be prompted to enter your contact information.

  2. Click "Book" under the New Request heading:

    Screenshot of main screen of ILLiad web tool, with red arrow pointing to the word Book

  3. Enter the information about the book you are requesting. In the Notes field, indicate that (a) the library owns the book, and (b) you'd like it delivered to Syracuse. Here's an example; the first line in the Notes field (the <fssessid> part) is automatically generated by the software.

    Screenshot of interlibrary loan request screen

  4. That's it! Submit your request.

Getting Books The Library Doesn't Own

Obtaining books we don't own

  • If you live outside of the 13126 zip code:

    • And you take at least 1 class at the Syracuse campus, we will deliver the books to the Syracuse campus.

    • And you do NOT take any classes at the Syracuse campus, we recommend you get books from your public library's collection or through their interlibrary loan service.*

  • If you live within the 13126 zip code, you can request the books through our interlibrary loan service and pick them up at the Check Out / Reserves Desk at Penfield Library.

* If your public library cannot obtain the item, please contact the Interlibrary Loan department at Penfield Library (ill@oswego.edu / 315-312-4546) and we'll work together to obtain the materials you need.


  1. Login to Illiad.

    If you've never used this site before, you'll be prompted to enter your contact information.

  2. Click "Book" under the New Request heading:

    Screenshot of main screen of ILLiad web tool, with red arrow pointing to the word Book

  3. Enter the information about the book you are requesting. In the Notes field, let us know you'd like the item delivered to Syracuse. Here's an example; the first few lines in the Notes field (the <fssessid> part) is automatically generated by the software.

    Screenshot of interlibrary loan request screen

  4. That's it! Submit your request.

Technical Information

You will use your LakerNet ID to log into most online library services, including:

  • Library databases
  • Interlibrary loan
  • Course reserves​

Troubleshooting

Unfortunately, schools and workplaces sometimes block Oswego websites! If you find that you can't access parts of the library's webpage, or our research databases, then you may need to talk to the IT staff at your school or workplace.

Some web services use a specific port to connect to a network; different ports allow for different types of data to be transferred. Here are the ports we use:

  • 4470 (for the library catalog)
  • 4479 (also for the library catalog) 
  • 2048 (for our databases) 
  • 443 (also for our databases) 

You can ask your IT staff to open these specific ports so you can access our resources. 

If you have any other problems accessing library materials, please let us know! 

Ask a Librarian