Journal articles (covers more than 1,700 periodicals), chapters, books, dissertations and reports on psychology and related fields.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Interlibrary Loan - ILLiad
Use the library databases or catalog to look for what you need. Material not owned by Penfield Library can be requested through our Interlibrary Loan service by clicking on the or links.
Find Journal Articles - Specialized Databases
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowU.S. National Library of Medicine search service to access 19 million citations from MEDLINE for biomedical articles back to 1948 and other related databases.'
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowA collection of journals and other publications covering life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences, humanities and business. (use buttons at top of page to go to journals or do a search)
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowFull-text for 59 core scholarly and scientific journals. Covers topics of general psychology and specialized, applied, clinical and theoretical research.
Covers: 1894 - present
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of ACM (Association of Computing Machinery) periodicals and transactions. A few conference proceedings are also available in full-text. Includes citations to related articles in computing and information technology. Browse or search the contents of ACM publications. Enter your search in the search box near the top of the screen or click 'Advanced Search.'
Covers: 1945 - present (citations & full text)
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowSearch education journals about all levels of education - from early childhood to higher education - as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Covers: Varies by journal title
When searching Psycinfo, you'll often find what look to be great articles, and then you'll request them through Interlibrary Loan, only to find out that what you ordered was a 1 or 2 page abstract or is not availalbe. This is usually because the citation is for a dissertation abstract. You can easily tell if what you're looking at is a dissertation abstract by looking at the citation. In Psyinfo, you can exclude dissertations by checking the box labeled "Exclude Dissertations" in the Advanced Search mode.