Resource Guides: About Penfield's "Search Our Collections" box: About

About Penfield's Main Search Box

The main search box on Penfield Library's homepage is a great way to access library content. It will get you access to:

Books, ebooks, and media owned by Penfield Library — everything you would otherwise look up in the library catalog.
The contents of many library databases, including JSTOR, Academic OneFile, and most others.

That being said, Penfield Library has access to many more resources that we currently can't make available to you through this search box.

Resources Not Included in the Search Box

Here are the library databases whose full contents are not included in the search box on the library homepage:

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
NOTE: Artstor has been combined with JSTOR. As of August 1, 2024, images from Artstor are accessible through JSTOR.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable database that allows you to view select historic newspaper pages from 1836 - 1922. and find information about newspapers from 1690 to the present.
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles, some peer-reviewed, economics research Limited to four users -- please remember to log off.
EconLit with Full Text contains all of the indexing available in EconLit, plus full text for more than 480 journals, including the American Economic Association journals with no embargo (American Economic Review, Journal of Economic Literature, and Journal of Economic Perspectives. This database also contains many non-English full-text journals in economics & finance. Volume and issue browsing is available for all full-text journals. EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature. EconLit, adheres to the high quality standards long recognized by subscribers to the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) and is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969. It provides links to full text articles in all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more. EconLit, uses the JEL classification system and controlled vocabulary of keywords to index six types of records: journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and full text book reviews from the Journal of Economic Literature.
ETS Test Collection This link opens in a new window
A database of descriptive information about over 25,000 tests. Offers useful information about where the tests are published and how to obtain a copy.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Over 2 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
Covers: 1785 - present
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
A database of descriptive information and edited reviews for over 7,000 commercially available testing instruments. Print editions 1-17 (1938-2007) in Reference Storage BF 421 .B96.
Limited to 8 users - please remember to log off.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
Search for full-text copies of over 18,000 psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration. Tests come from a variety of sources (authors, articles, etc.), but full copies of commercial tests are generally not available.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Search over 2,700 periodicals for information on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A collection of journals and other publications covering life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences, humanities and business. (use buttons at top of page to go to journals or do a search)