Find Journal Articles - Multidisciplinary Databases
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles, interviews, obituaries, book reviews, and original works of fiction, drama, and poetry. Also included are reviews of ballets, dance, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
Covers: 1928-1941 (citations only); 1942 - present (citations & full text) - Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowCore topics in women's studies as well as current topics in feminist research. Includes sociology, history, political science, public policy, business, and education. Indexes journals, newspapers, newsletters, books, proceedings, and dissertations.
- RI-Opac: Literature Database for the Middle Ages"The RI-Opac is a freely accessible database, covering all disciplines of medieval sciences for the European language sphere." Free text search on English terms will retrieve primarly sources written in English. Search with the English Thesaurus to retrieve non-English sources. Full text may be limited but the citations are sufficient to get the material through Penfield Library.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including: sciences, social sciences, arts & literature, ethnic studies, and many more. Full-text for over 6,100 titles (5,100 peer-reviewed); indexing and abstracting for 10,600 titles; complete historical coverage and citation searching for select titles.
Covers: Varies by journal title (many 1975 - present) - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. In most cases, full text of the journal is available from the first issue to date. Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Jewish Studies, Language & Literature, Life Sciences, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants, 19th Century Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa.
NOTE: Artstor has been combined with JSTOR. As of August 1, 2024, images from Artstor are accessible through JSTOR. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse this search engine to find scholarly works, including many online journals. You can set your preferences to link to Penfield's many databases in this way: 1) choose settings from menu in upper left corner; 2) click library links in the left navigation bar and type 'SUNY Oswego' in box; 3) select the link provided; 4) click 'save.'
Find Primary Sources in Newspapers and Magazines
- New York Times Article Archives, 1851-presentOnline index. To get full-text from Penfield, check the link Find a Specific Journal. SUNY Oswego students, faculty, and staff may request free copy service for those articles available only in microfilm.
- Primary Sources in Newspapers and MagazinesComplete list of indexes and databases that include historical newspapers and magazines.
