Health Promotion & Wellness Research Guide

Government site with reliable health information.

Part of the USDA National Agriculture Library. Includes information on food safety, food labeling, dietary supplements, nutrition assistance programs, food composition, etc.

For U.S. Government Web sites.

Basic information on health topics from resources provided by government and other public interest agencies.

Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans.

Easy to understand medical information from the National Institute of Health.

Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered art of conventional medicine.

Full-text health information for consumers.

A collection of books, journal articles, and media related to the health status of racial and ethnic minority populations.

Government site includes links to MEDLINE plus, conveying information from various sources, and MEDLINE, with references to articles in over 4,000 biomedical journals.

The Kaiser Family Foundation's goal is to provide accurate health information. You will find a variety of health topics covered on this site, including global health policies, heath & insurance costs, women's health policies, and more.

Excellent health information site.

Quality consumer and patient health information.

National research survey on college students' health habits, behaviors, and perceptions from the American College Health Association.

A searchable database of cancer control interventions and program materials that are designed to provide program planners and public health practitioners easy and immediate access to research-tested materials.

Fifty state reports, ranking each county within the 50 states according to its health outcomes and the multiple health factors that determine a county's health.

Searchable online registry of interventions supporting mental health promotion, substance abuse prevention, and mental health and substance abuse treatment. An agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Programs and policies to improve health and prevent disease in communities.

Recommendations on the use of screening, counseling, and other preventive services that are typically delivered in primary care settings.

World health data and programs.