Books and e-Books
- Selected Primary Sources from the Library CatalogClick on + ADD A NEW LINE and enter the subject you're searching for, then click the green SEARCH link on the right
- Hathi Trust Digital LibraryOnline access to over 4 million books collected and digitized by a partnership of major research institutions and libraries. Learn how to download ebooks to your device.
- Google BooksThe Google Books Library Project has scanned thousands of older books, including primary source materials. Learn how to download ebooks to your device.
Newspapers and Magazines
- The (London) Times Index (title varies), Reference Storage, Lower Level, 1790-1998Index to the respected Times of London, England. (Microfilm available from 1785 - 1999.) SUNY Oswego students, faculty, and staff may request free copy service for those articles available only in microfilm.
- Digital Library of the CarribbeanThe Digital Library of the Carribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative of partners within the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean that provides users with access to Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials held in archives, libraries, and private collections. dLOC comprises collections that speak to the similarities and differences in histories, cultures, languages and governmental systems. Types of collections include but are not limited to: newspapers, archives of Caribbean leaders and governments, official documents, documentation and numeric data for ecosystems, scientific scholarship, historic and contemporary maps, oral and popular histories, travel accounts, literature and poetry, musical expressions, and artifacts.
- New York Times Article Archives, 1851-presentOnline index. To get full-text from Penfield, check the link Find a Specific Journal. SUNY Oswego students, faculty, and staff may request free copy service for those articles available only in microfilm.
- New York Times Index, Reference Storage, Lower Level, 1851-2004Print subject index to articles in the newspaper of record. (Online index and text from 1851-present in New York Times Article Archive; microfilm available from 1857 - 2005.)
- Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, Reference Storage, Lower Level, 1st Floor, 1890-1900
- Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, Reference Storage, Lower Level, 1802 - 1907
- Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, Reference Storage, Lower Level, 1900 - May 2004
Guide & Tutorial
Visit the Primary Sources Guide for more information about using these materials for historical research.
