Research Starters
We all use Wikipedia, but if you want something authoritative and reliable, Britannica® Academic is a great option. Like all encyclopedias, this source is a good way to find background information on a topic.
- Encyclopedia Britannica - Academic This link opens in a new windowIf the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Britannica Academic.
Opposing Viewpoints is a great source for information about current events, especially controversial ones. They provide a wide variety of sources on each topic - everything from opinion essays to scholarly articles. We recommend this source when you're having difficulty coming up with a topic. It's also a good tool if you already have an idea, but aren't sure what direction to take.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
If the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Opposing Viewpoints.
This source is very similar to Opposing Viewpoints in Context - it's a good place to look for information on controversial issues.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowIf the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Points of View Reference Center.
Background Information
Use these sources to focus your topic, build a vocabulary, and find additional sources as you begin your research.
- Battleground: Environment, GE 105 .C64 2008
- Birkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability, GE 140.B47 2010
- Encyclopedia of Climate Change, 2016Also in print: QC981.8.G56 E46 2016
- Encyclopedia of EnergyAlso available in print:TJ163.16 .E47 2013
- Encyclopedia of Global Warming Science and TechnologyQC981.8.G56 J638 2009
- Encyclopedia of Weather and Climate ChangeQC854 .E5258 2010
- Energy Use Worldwide, TJ 163.2 .M62 2007
- Handbook of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, TJ 163.3 .H356 2007
- Oxford Companion to Global Change, GE 149.C84 2009
- Renewable and Alternative Energy Resources, TJ 808.3 .S65 2008
- Taking sides. Clashing views on controversial issues in science, technology, and society, Q175.5 .T344
- Worldmark encyclopedia of U.S. and Canadian environmental issuesGE197 .W67 2012
