Archived websites
Want to find a website that has been discontinued? Try the Internet Archive WayBackMachine.
Atmospheric and Climate Data Sources
The Atmosphere Data page is for those who want to find environmental data related to meteorology and climatology. There are a number of sites listed for organizations that collect data either in support of their research objectives or as part of their organizational mission.
- National Weather Service (NWS)The NWS information database provides daily forecasts and warnings for severe weather events such as hurricanes, tornadoes, winter storms, flooding, and tsunamis.
- Climate Data Online - NOAAProvides access to NCDC's archive of global historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information.
- NCDC- National Climatic Data Center. Image and Publications SystemA list links to data publications from the NCDC.
- Global Change Master Directory (GCMD)Provides descriptions of Earth science data sets covering agriculture, the atmosphere, biosphere, hydrosphere and oceans, snow and ice, geology and geophysics, paleoclimatology, and human dimensions of global change.
- Goddard Earth Sciences (GES) Data and Information Services Center (DISC)The GES DISC provides data and related services for global change research and education.
- National Atmospheric Disposition ProgramThe purpose of the network is to collect data on the chemistry of precipitation for monitoring of geographical and temporal long-term trends.
- National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI)Responsible for preserving, monitoring, assessing, and providing public access to the Nation's climate and historical weather data and information.
- National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service (NESDIS)Provides access to global environmental data from satellites and other sources.
- National Snow and Ice Data CenterScientific data sets for research focusing on the cryosphere and its interactions. Data are from satellites and field observations.
- NOAA Annual Greenhouse Gas Index (AGGI)The AGGI is a measure of the climate-warming influence of long-lived trace gases and how that influence has changed since the onset of the industrial revolution.
