Find Journal Articles - Databases
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including: sciences, social sciences, arts & literature, ethnic studies, and many more. Full-text for over 6,100 titles (5,100 peer-reviewed); indexing and abstracting for 10,600 titles; complete historical coverage and citation searching for select titles.
Covers: Varies by journal title (many 1975 - present) -
Applied Science & Technology Source, 1965 - present This link opens in a new windowSearch scholarly journals and professional literature about the atmospheric sciences, chemistry, computer science, engineering, geology, physics, and more.
Covers: 1965 - present -
Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new windowThis database contains articles about environmental science and sustainability; the content is pulled from various subject areas, such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse this search engine to find scholarly works, including many online journals. You can set your preferences to link to Penfield's many databases in this way: 1) choose settings from menu in upper left corner; 2) click library links in the left navigation bar and type 'SUNY Oswego' in box; 3) select the link provided; 4) click 'save.'
-
Research Library This link opens in a new windowSearch over 2,700 periodicals for information on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowA collection of journals and other publications covering life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences, humanities and business. (use buttons at top of page to go to journals or do a search)
Searching and Retrieval Tips
These search tips can be used in most of the library's databases. They are typical operations used across different database vendor platforms.
- Use AND to retrieve items that contain both terms. This will narrow the scope of your results: beach erosion AND hurricanes
- Use OR to retrieve items that contain one term or the other. This will expand the scope of your results: nor’easter OR noreaster OR northeaster
- Use drop down menus to specify how to search a term: Searching a term as a subject heading rather than by keyword can make your results more precise.
- Use * as a wildcard: hurricane* will retrieve hurricane or hurricanes
- Use “ ” to search terms as an exact phrase. This can help make your results more precise.
- If the article in not available in the library or online, use Interlibrary Loan to get it from another library.
