What can I learn on this page?
You can learn to:
- Search for and access credible sources that can help you answer your question.
- Understand that searching is more complex than using one search tool and one search statement.
- Explore the information landscapes you are entering.
- Target and select sources based on their authority, credibility and purpose.
Discover Sources
Knowledge does not live in objects like books and articles, but in the minds of the authors of those objects. You will need to think about who has the knowledge you seek, and then look for the places where those experts publish, and where those publications are indexed.
Below are indexes or tools that cover lots of fields of knowledge, brief tutorials on finding sources in those tools, and a link to guides to published knowledge for each of the major programs on campus.
Using these tools is a matter of
- entering search statements,
- reviewing search results (and revising search statements if needed),
- and retrieving or accessing the full text from selected sources.
The databases, such as Academic Search Complete, index mainly articles in magazines, newspapers and scholarly journals, and often focus on particular subject areas.The library catalog indexes books and media that we own, and can easily be used to search other libraries, too. Library catalogs and databases provide materials that are NOT fully and easily available through internet search engines.
Academic Search Complete
This interdisciplinary scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including: sciences, social sciences, arts & literature, ethnic studies, and many more. Full-text for over 6,100 titles (5,100 peer-reviewed); indexing and abstracting for 10,600 titles; complete historical coverage and citation searching for select titles.
Searching for Academic Articles
As you review your search results you can begin to assess the authority, credibility and purpose of each source as you select it. You will continue to evaluate each source as you read it and use it in your own work.
Penfield Library Catalog
Searching for Books
Do you need ebooks for online or remote use? Go directly to Find ebooks in the Find books guide.
Guides to Subject Areas
- Research Guides by SubjectLibrary databases and other resources by subject area
- A-Z List of DatabasesThis list can also be viewed by subject
