Government Documents and Information

The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.

Data.gov is the United States government's open data website. It provides access to datasets published by agencies across the federal government.

A portal for discovering and requesting access to restricted microdata from federal statistical agencies.

Provides the public with information, tools, and news related to official federal statistics.

Paper copies available in Penfield's reference room. See Ref HA202 2001-2012. Older copies in storage.

The official open data source of federal spending information,
including information about federal awards such as contracts, grants, and loans.

The BLS is an independent national statistical agency that collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential statistical data to the American public, the U.S. Congress, other Federal agencies, State and local governments, business, and labor.

BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the nation's economy.

The CBO produces independent analyses of budgetary and economic issues to support the Congressional budget process.

Monthly publication prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee providing economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.

Gives access to information about potential customers and
similar businesses for those starting or planning a business. The data
are presented in a map-based interface that is accessed in a few
simple steps.

Provides data and statistics on a variety of health related topics.

Los CDC son la organización líder de servicio de la nación que, basada en la ciencia e impulsada por los datos, protege la salud del público.

Provides data elements from FDA compliance and enforcement data sources, including Inspections, Compliance Actions, Recalls, Imports, and Food Safety Modernization Act programs.

Provides statistics on public heath.

Provides statistics about behavorial health, including data on mental illness and substance abuse disorders.

Provides complete statistics on the condition of American education.

Collects and reports on the status of families and children.

Providees statistical information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

This FBI website provides a view of estimated national and state data, reported agency-level crime statistics, and graphs of specific variables from the National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS).

Provides data on agriculture, food, the environment, and rural America

NASS conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture.

BTS is a source of statistics on commercial aviation, multimodal freight activity, and transportation economics.

Provides statistics and reports about military casualties and military and civilian personnel. Note: Not all links are open to the public.

Provides data products covering energy production, stocks, demand, imports, exports, and prices and prepares analyses and special reports on topics of current interest.

Brings together a wide range of foreign assistance data produced by U.S. government agencies that manage foreign assistance portfolios.

Provides data and reports about immigration.

Provides data on the U.S. tax system.

Provides official federal election vote counts from 1920 to the present.

Provides data on internation travel, trade, and border encounters.

Provides research, publications, and data on housing and community development.

A portal to access over 1000 preserved government datasets.

This project is preserving all the datasets posted to the data.gov website.

DataLumos is a crowdsourced repository for government data.

While datasets are not the primary focus of this preservation project, it does archive many federal government websites during presidential administration transitions. A link to the Wayback Machine and instructions on how to find sites archived by the project can be found by scrolling to the bottom of the page.

Mirrored and archived public data from a wide variety of site hosted by UC Santa Barbara.

A collaborative effort to preserve and provide access to environmental data.

Search for datasets across a variety of sites including archive.org's CDC mirror, Harvard Dataverse, Data Rescue Project, Climate Program Portal, Harvard's data.gov mirror, and DataLumos.

TRAC has been collecting and analyzing government staffing, spending, and enforcement activities data since 1996, with a special focus on immigration.