Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Find articles

Accessing Articles

Once you've found articles, accessing them is the easy part. 

  • If you searched Primo (the search box on the library homepage), look for links that says Available online or Full text available, like in the image below:

  • Each database company does things slightly differently, but usually, they'll use one ore more of the following words: PDF, Download, and Full text. Here are a few examples.

    Proquest is a company - we subscribe to a few different databases through them. In their databases, look for the phrase Full text, like in the image below:

    JSTOR is one database. They use the words Download PDF - see the image below.

If you see the phrase Full Text Finder...

You will probably see the phrase Full Text Finder in your search results. This just means that we have the article in another database. Just click on the link - it will take you straight to the article or the journal's homepage.  

If it takes you to the homepage for the journal, like in the image below, you can either "Search within publication" (2b in the image below) or browse by date to find your article (2a in the image below). Some databases may only let you browse by date, but several should have both options. 

 

If you see the phrase Request through interlibrary loan...

If you see Request through interlibrary loan, like in the image below, that means we do not have access to the article. However, we can get it for you from another library! It usually takes us a few days to get the article, and we'll email you once it's arrived. 

Here's how to do this:

  1. Click on the Request through interlibrary loan link, and then login with your Laker NetID & password on the next page:

  2. If it's the first time you've requested anything this way, you'll be asked to fill in your contact information.

  3. Once you've submitted your contact information, the information about the article should already be there. Just scroll down and click Submit Request (see the example below).

Ask a Librarian