Tips and Tricks
Combine terms using AND to narrow your results: Life Expectancy AND United States.
Combine terms using OR to expand your results: deregulation OR reaganomics.
Add * to the root of a work to retrieve different spelling variations: econom* gets economy or economics.
Use "" to search terms as an exact phrase: "economic recovery"
Check the box for limiting results to peer reviewed items; this will include peer reviewed articles.
Search terms as subject headings to make your results more precise. Use the thesaurus to see if your term is a subject heading. Some databases call subject headings descripters.
- EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new windowArticles, some peer-reviewed, economics research Limited to four users -- please remember to log off.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Arts & Sciences VII, Language & Literature, and Life Sciences Collections. An archive of important scholarly journal literature and ebooks. In most cases, full text of the journal is available from the first issue to date.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAnnotated references to journal articles on the history of areas outside of the United States and Canada. Subject coverage extends from the year 1450 to the present. Indexes over 2,000 scholarly historical journals.
Covers: 1954 - present (citations)
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowCitations to journal articles and reviews of books on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes over 2,000 scholarly historical journals.
Covers: 1964 - present
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull text for over 500 journals in sociology and related disciplines, and indexing for over 3000 others. Also includes relevant books and conference papers, many of them full-text, and allows searching of cited references.
Covers: 1895 - present (varies by title)
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowCore topics in women's studies as well as current topics in feminist research. Includes sociology, history, political science, public policy, business, and education. Indexes journals, newspapers, newsletters, books, proceedings, and dissertations.
- American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital LibraryOnline presentation of primary source materials and exhibitions from the Library of Congress and other institutions.
- Women and Social Movements This link opens in a new windowDigital library of primary source documents relevant to United States history of women and social movements. Includes dozens of document collections with tens of thousands of document pages. Images, transcriptions, and supporting information are available for each document.
- New York Times Article Archives, 1851-presentOnline index. To get full-text from Penfield, check the link Find a Specific Journal. SUNY Oswego students, faculty, and staff may request free copy service for those articles available only in microfilm.
Locate a Specific Journal
- Journals by TitleThis is the place to search for a specific journal title, such as Journal of Economic History or Wall Street Journal.