Gender & Women's Studies Research Guide

Material includes resources from the American Memory Collection, online exhibitions, manuscripts, prints and photographs and resources on recorded sound. Not all material is available online.

An online exhibit showcasing achievements of women throughout history, starting in the 1940s.

Provides browsing, searching and full text of primary source documents available in digital collections on the Web. About 75% of the materials are freely available, and the rest are in proprietary collections that we have not yet purchased access to.

"Since 1980 the National Women’s History Alliance has made groundbreaking progress in accessibility of women’s history educational materials and advocacy. We share resources across the women’s history educational community, serving as a hub or clearinghouse for our partners and friends. We are best known for its leadership in founding and annually promoting Women’s History Month."

"As part of the United States Justice Department, VAWO was created in 1995 to implement the 1994 Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) and to lead the national effort to stop domestic violence, sexual assault, and stalking."

A collection from the Library of Congress documenting important topics in Women and Gender Studies, including many primary sources.

The Gender and Women's Studies program's list of collected online resources, including government links, women's organizations, women's health topics, and more.

The 2022 edition of the Burns Halperin report examines representation in U.S. museums and the art market for work by Black American artists, female-identifying artists, and Black American female-identifying artists, by tracing museum acquisitions (a total of almost 350,000 objects) and exhibitions (nearly 6,000), as well as auction results over more than a decade, and data from leading galleries on representation and sales.

A leading source for scholarly research and data about women's participation in politics in the United States, includes a database of women elected officials.

"For 47 years, the International Center for Research on Women (ICRW) has set the global agenda for gender equity, inclusion, and shared prosperity with action-oriented research and solutions. Our Research and Programs, Advocacy and Policy, and Private Sector teams focus on economic opportunity and security, health and reproductive rights, gender norms, and climate action."

While the physical museum will not open for many years, the Smithsonian American Women's History Museum website has an online collection and educational resources.

Online museum digital exhibitions and educational resources.

The National Women's Business Council is a federal advisory committee providing advice to the President, Congress, and Small Business Association. The website includes research and fact sheets on women business owners and entrepreneurs.

The Digital Transgender Archive is a collaboration among many universities, non-profits, and private collections that provides access to "digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world."

A museum and an archive with a number of digitized (online) collections, including an archive of the Bay Area Reporter, the oldest continuously published lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender weekly newspaper in the United States.

Bay Area Reporter archives can also be found here: https://archive.org/details/bayareareporter

Videos and audio such as interviews and speeches documenting important activists, media, communities, and so on in lesbian history.

Government documents about court cases, presidential memos, laws passed and repealed, and more.

A Library of Congress collection of materials on the topic of LGBTQ+ politicians and political issues.

Collection from the Library of Congress which "which documents LGBTQ+ history, scholarship, and culture in the United States and around the world."

A collection of essays from the National Park Service focused on the importance of place in LGBTQ history in America.

Visual materials documenting LGBT history including photos, sketches, drawings, and portraits.

A repository of LGBTQ materials hosted by the University of Southern California, including periodicals, books, film, video and audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records and personal papers.

A collection of documents, photos, ephemera, oral histories, bibliographies, and articles maintained by scholars and amateur historians.

Zines are small books or pamphlets created by amateurs using DIY/hand-made methods. They often focus on underground or niche groups and communities. The Queer Zine Archive preserves and makes available many queer zines.

Source for research on LGBTQ political candidates and elected officials.

Based at the UCLA School of Law, the Williams Institute conducts research on sexual orientation and gender identity law and public policy.