Journal articles (covers more than 1,700 periodicals), chapters, books, dissertations and reports on psychology and related fields.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Find Journal Articles - Specialized Databases
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull text for over 500 journals in sociology and related disciplines, and indexing for over 3000 others. Also includes relevant books and conference papers, many of them full-text, and allows searching of cited references.
Covers: 1895 - present (varies by title)
- Social Science Database This link opens in a new windowOver 300 full-text titles on a range of social science topics.
Covers: 1994 - present
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowFull-text for 59 core scholarly and scientific journals. Covers topics of general psychology and specialized, applied, clinical and theoretical research.
Covers: 1894 - present
- LGBT Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch the world's literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. This database contains indexing and abstracts for core periodicals, books and, reference works.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowCore topics in women's studies as well as current topics in feminist research. Includes sociology, history, political science, public policy, business, and education. Indexes journals, newspapers, newsletters, books, proceedings, and dissertations.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowA collection of journals and other publications covering life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences, humanities and business. (use buttons at top of page to go to journals or do a search)
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowPremier index of Education resources, including abstracts of articles from over 1000 journals and of documents such as teaching guides, research reports, lesson plans, and test and evaluation instruments.
Covers: 1966 - present
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new windowSearch over 2,000 premier worldwide business periodicals for information on advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Also includes information on 60,000+ companies and the full text of thousands of dissertations.
Covers: 1971 - 1984 (citations only); 1985 - present (citations & full text)
Find Journal Articles - Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including: sciences, social sciences, arts & literature, ethnic studies, and many more. Full-text for over 6,100 titles (5,100 peer-reviewed); indexing and abstracting for 10,600 titles; complete historical coverage and citation searching for select titles.
Covers: Varies by journal title (many 1975 - present)
- Research Library This link opens in a new windowSearch over 2,700 periodicals for information on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse this search engine to find scholarly works, including many online journals. You can set your preferences to link to Penfield's many databases in this way: 1) choose settings from menu in upper left corner; 2) click library links in the left navigation bar and type 'SUNY Oswego' in box; 3) select the link provided; 4) click 'save.'
Finding Articles on Program Evaluation
To find articles on program evaluation for your program, begin with a keyword related to your topic, and then add the word "program evaluation" to your search.
In this example, I've used "reading and program evaluation" to find program evaluations for reading programs.
After searching for a keyword relevant to your topic such as reading and program evaluation, Psycinfo will suggest subjects that will be useful to you, such as "educational program evaluation."
You can select any of the subjects to add these to your search terms. This will be helpful if your program is in an educational setting rather than social services or healthcare as how they will evaluate programs will differ.
Major Journals on Program Assessment and Evaluation
Below are links to two major journals that focus specifically on program planning and evaluation. You can use the links to search directly in those journals in addition to searching the major databases such as Psycinfo and Science Direct. Just select the name of the database (i.e. Science Direct) to search directly within that journal.