How do I find article links?

First, you'll need to find the article! (If you need help with that, let us know.) 

Next, you need to find the "permalink." Database vendors use different names for this - stable URL, static URL, persistent link, etc. 

Since each database does this differently, we've provided instructions for a few popular vendors. If you don't see the database / database vendor you're looking for, let us know and we'll add instructions!

EBSCOHost includes:

To find the permalink:

  1. Click on Permalink on the right hand side of the screen
  2. Copy the URL that appears above the article title

Screenshot of the Ebsco search interface, with permalink sections marked

In JSTOR, you should see a few expandable menu options. Click on the phrase Item details (labeled with a 1 in the screenshot below). This will reveal the "remote access URL." Click the icon with the stacked boxes () to copy that URL (labeled with a 2 in the screenshot below). Do not use the URL just below the journal title; that link will not work off-campus.

A screenshot of a JSTOR article page, with an arrow pointing to the remote access URL

ProQuest includes:

  • ABI/Inform
  • GeoRef
  • Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts‎
  • Many more...

To find the permalink:

  1. Click on the Abstract/Details tab above the article title
  2. Scroll down until you see the Document URL, and copy it

Screenshot of the ProQuest search interface, with document URL marked

How do I add these article links to Brightspace?

  1. Once you've copied your link, head to Brightspace.
  2. Navigate to the module you'd like to add the link to. Click Upload / Create, then Create a Link. 

  3. Enter a Title for the link (ex. the article title and last name of the author) and paste the database URL in the URL field.

  4. Click Create - you're done!