LGBTQIA+ Research Guide

Search the world's literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. This database contains indexing and abstracts for core periodicals, books and, reference works.

This interdisciplinary scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including: sciences, social sciences, arts & literature, ethnic studies, and many more. Full-text for over 6,100 titles (5,100 peer-reviewed); indexing and abstracting for 10,600 titles; complete historical coverage and citation searching for select titles.
Covers: Varies by journal title (many 1975 - present)

Provides full-text access to medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, including gender affirming care, LGBTQ+ health, and sexual health.

Provides national and state-specific attorney forms to help users understand and actively participate in their legal affairs. Coverage areas include name changes, healthcare proxies and directives, and employment and housing laws. Supplemental materials including legal definitions and law digest articles support a deeper understanding of complex legal topics.

Use this search engine to find scholarly works, including many online journals. You can set your preferences to link to Penfield's many databases in this way: 1) choose settings from menu in upper left corner; 2) click library links in the left navigation bar and type 'SUNY Oswego' in box; 3) select the link provided; 4) click 'save.'

Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. In most cases, full text of the journal is available from the first issue to date. Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Jewish Studies, Language & Literature, Life Sciences, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants, 19th Century Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa.

NOTE: Artstor has been combined with JSTOR. As of August 1, 2024, images from Artstor are accessible through JSTOR.

A full-text database of almost 2000 periodical publications, including coverage of the sciences, humanities, education & other social sciences, business and information science.

Journal articles (covers more than 1,700 periodicals), chapters, books, dissertations and reports on psychology and related fields.
Covers: 1887 - present

U.S. National Library of Medicine search service to access 19 million citations from MEDLINE for biomedical articles back to 1948 and other related databases.'

Search over 2,700 periodicals for information on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.

Full text for over 500 journals in sociology and related disciplines, and indexing for over 3000 others. Also includes relevant books and conference papers, many of them full-text, and allows searching of cited references.
Covers: 1895 - present (varies by title)