Citation Building Tools
Use these tools to format your reference list citations in APA, Chicago, or MLA styles. Check the accuracy of these citations (e.g. capitalization, indentation, etc.) using a citation guide.
Citation Guides
AAPG Style (American Association of Petroleum Geologists)
ACS Style (American Chemical Society)
-
The ACS Style Guide
Call Number: Ref QD 8.5 .A25 2006ISBN: 9780841239999Publication Date: 2006 (3rd ed.)
AMS Style (American Meteorological Society)
APA Style (American Psychological Association)
-
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Call Number: Research Help Desk, BF76.7 .P83 2020
ASA Style (American Sociological Assocation)
-
American Sociological Association Style Guide
Call Number: Ref HM73 .A54 2014ISBN: 091276421XPublication Date: 2014 (5th ed.)
Chicago Manual of Style
-
Penfield Library's Chicago Notes & Bibliography Style GuideThe Chicago Style Notes & Bibliography system is used by many writers in literature, history, and the arts.
-
Penfield Library's Chicago Author-Date Style GuideThe Chicago Style Author-Date system is used by many in the physical, natural, and social sciences.
-
The Chicago Manual of Style
by
Call Number: Ref Z253 .U69 2024ISBN: 9780226817972Publication Date: 2024
-
Chicago-Style Citation Quick GuideAlso has a Q&A page with frequently asked questions.
Creative Commons
Geological Society of America
Harvard Style / System
Journal of Structural Geology Style
Legal Citations
-
The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation
Call Number: Ref KF245 .U55 2010ISBN: 9780692400197Publication Date: 2015 (20th ed.)
MLA Style
-
MLA Handbook
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2016ISBN: 9781603292627Publication Date: 2016 (8th ed.)
2 copies available:
- Research Help Desk
- Browsing Collection (behind CLA desk)
APA Style Guides
-
Publication Manual of the American Psychological AssociationAvailable in paper copy in Penfield.
Other Citation Styles
AAPG Style (American Association of Petroleum Geologists)
ACS Style (American Chemical Society)
-
The ACS Style Guide
Call Number: Ref QD 8.5 .A25 2006ISBN: 9780841239999Publication Date: 2006 (3rd ed.)
AMS Style (American Meteorological Society)
ASA Style (American Sociological Assocation)
-
American Sociological Association Style Guide
Call Number: Ref HM73 .A54 2014ISBN: 091276421XPublication Date: 2014 (5th ed.)
Creative Commons
Geological Society of America
Harvard Style / System
Journal of Structural Geology Style
Legal Citations
-
The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation
Call Number: Ref KF245 .U55 2010ISBN: 9780692400197Publication Date: 2015 (20th ed.)
AIP American Institute of Physics
MLA Style Guides
-
MLA HandbookAvailable in paper copy in Penfield.
Legal Citations
-
The Bluebook: A Uniform System of CitationRef KF245 .U55 2010
-
Bluebook GuideCreated by Georgetown Law Library.
-
Introduction to Basic Legal CitationCreated by Cornell Law School.
Chicago Style Guides
-
Penfield Library's Chicago Notes & Bibliography Style GuideThe Chicago Style Notes & Bibliography system is used by many writers in literature, history, and the arts.
-
Penfield Library's Chicago Author-Date Style GuideThe Chicago Style Author-Date system is used by many in the physical, natural, and social sciences.
-
Chicago Manual of StyleAvailable in paper copy in Penfield.
-
Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue UniversityNote: This website uses the previous edition of the Chicago Manual of Style.
-
Chicago Sample Paper - Author/Date Citation StyleNote: This website uses the previous edition of the Chicago Manual of Style.
-
Chicago Sample Paper - Notes & Bibliography StyleNote: This website uses the previous edition of the Chicago Manual of Style.
-
Chicago-Style Citation Quick GuideAlso has a Q&A page with frequently asked questions.
Other Citation Styles
- AAPG Style (American Association of Petroleum Geologists)
- ACS Style (American Chemical Society)
- AMS Style (American Meteorological Society)
- AIP Style (American Institute of Physics)
- ASA Style (American Sociological Association)
- Formatting in Sociology (ASA Style) - from Purdue University
- Penfield Library's ASA Style Guide
- Creative Commons
- Geological Society of America
- Harvard System
- IEEE Style from Purdue OWL
- Journal of Structural Geology Style