Resource Guides: Reusable Content Repository: A-Z Database Widgets

Quick Links

Research Starters

We all use Wikipedia, but if you want something authoritative and reliable, Britannica® Academic is a great option. Like all encyclopedias, this source is a good way to find background information on a topic.

Encyclopedia Britannica - Academic
If the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Britannica Academic.

Opposing Viewpoints is a great source for information about current events, especially controversial ones. They provide a wide variety of sources on each topic - everything from opinion essays to scholarly articles. We recommend this source when you're having difficulty coming up with a topic. It's also a good tool if you already have an idea, but aren't sure what direction to take.

Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale)
If the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Opposing Viewpoints.

This source is very similar to Opposing Viewpoints in Context - it's a good place to look for information on controversial issues.

Points of View Reference Source
If the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Points of View Reference Center.

Academic Search Complete

This interdisciplinary scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including: sciences, social sciences, arts & literature, ethnic studies, and many more. Full-text for over 6,100 titles (5,100 peer-reviewed); indexing and abstracting for 10,600 titles; complete historical coverage and citation searching for select titles.

Academic Search Complete

Business Source Complete

Full text in all disciplines of business, including journals (many peer reviewed), market research reports, industry reports, country reports, SWOT analyses, and much more.

Business Source Complete

Environment Complete

Deep coverage of sustainability issues, with indexing beginning in the 1940s. Also full text of current core journals and books.

Environment Complete

ERIC

ERIC is the premier index of Education resources, including abstracts of articles from over 1000 journals and of documents such as teaching guides, research reports, lesson plans, and test and evaluation instruments.

ERIC

ETS Tests and Measurements

ETS Test Collection

A database of descriptive information about over 25,000 tests. Offers useful information about where the tests are published and how to obtain a copy

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)

Full database:

Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale)

Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Great for current issues research.

Green File

An interdisciplinary database covering topics related to environmental concerns and sustainability. Includes indexing and abstracts for articles and books.

GreenFILE

JSTOR

JSTOR

Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. In most cases, full text of the journal is available from the first issue to date. Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Jewish Studies, Language & Literature, Life Sciences, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants, 19th Century Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa.

NOTE: Artstor has been combined with JSTOR. As of August 1, 2024, images from Artstor are accessible through JSTOR.

Mental Measurements Yearbook

A database of descriptive information and edited reviews for over 7,000 commercially available testing instruments.

Mental Measurements Yearbook

National Newspapers Premier

National Newspapers Premier
Coverage of 27 major newspapers, most in full-text. Sources include multiple year coverage of The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, The Guardian (UK), and other important U.S. papers.

Newspaper Source Plus

Full text coverage for major national and international newspapers, plus television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts.

Newspaper Source Plus

PsycArticles

Full-text for several core scholarly and scientific journals. Covers topics of general psychology and specialized, applied, clinical and theoretical research.

PsycARTICLES

Psycinfo

Journal articles (covers more than 1,700 periodicals), chapters, books, dissertations and reports on psychology and related fields.

PsycINFO

Research Library (ProQuest)

Research Library
Search over 2,700 periodicals for information on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.

SocIndex

Full text for over 500 journals in sociology and related disciplines, and indexing for over 3000 others. Also includes relevant books and conference papers, many of them full-text, and allows searching of cited references.

SocINDEX with Full Text