Research Starters
We all use Wikipedia, but if you want something authoritative and reliable, Britannica® Academic is a great option. Like all encyclopedias, this source is a good way to find background information on a topic.
- Encyclopedia Britannica - Academic This link opens in a new windowIf the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Britannica Academic.
Opposing Viewpoints is a great source for information about current events, especially controversial ones. They provide a wide variety of sources on each topic - everything from opinion essays to scholarly articles. We recommend this source when you're having difficulty coming up with a topic. It's also a good tool if you already have an idea, but aren't sure what direction to take.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
If the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Opposing Viewpoints.
This source is very similar to Opposing Viewpoints in Context - it's a good place to look for information on controversial issues.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowIf the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Points of View Reference Center.
Crime
- Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice, 2nd edition, 2002Also available in paper copy: Ref HV 6017 .E52 2002
- Encyclopedia of Prisons and Correctional Facilities, 2005Also available in paper copy: Ref HV 9471.E693 2005
- Encyclopedia of Street Crime in America, 2013Also available in print in the Reference Room of the library at Ref. HV6789 . E435 2013
- Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior, Ref HV 6017 .E53 2001
- Handbook of Antisocial Behavior, Ref HV 6080 .H35 1997
- Encyclopedia of Gangs, Ref HV6439.U5 E53 2008
- Encyclopedia of American Crime, HV 6789.S54 2001
- Criminal Justice System and Women, HV9950 .C743234 2004
- Handbook of Criminal Justice Administration, HV 7419 .H25 2001
- Encyclopedia of White-Collar and Corporate Crime, HV6768 .E63 2013
- The Criminal Justice System, 2017Also available in paper copy: KF9217 .C75 2017
Policing
- Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement, 2005Also available in paper copy: HV 7921.E53 2005
- The Encyclopedia of Police Science, HV 7901 .E53 1995
Law
- Black's Law Dictionary, Ref KF 156.B53 2014
- Legal Systems of the World, K 48.L44 2002, v. 1-4
Social Work
- Encyclopedia of Social WorkPartial access. You may need to use interlibrary loan to obtain some articles.
- Handbook of Juvenile Justice Theory and Practice, Ref HV 9104.H25 2006
Forensics
Encyclopedia of Forensic Science, HV8073 .B425 2008
Government Documents
- GPO Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, July 1976-presentAn index to all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional hearings and agency publications. Penfield is a Selective Federal Depository.
- Government InformationFull page of government information and websites.
Plan Your Research
Not sure how long it will take you to complete an assignment? Want to make sure that you're not stuck at the last minute?
The Assignment Calculator can help you plan your work. Don't forget to email yourself the schedule, or print it - both options are at the bottom of the page.